Blueberry Crumble Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 28, 2008
Man, this stuff is sooooo good when you are craving something really sweet and totally unhealty. Kids love it because it tastes totally artificial. Balance it with a good helping on ice-cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2008
Got Rave Reviews! Out of necessity I had to make a couple of changes... I didn't have any blueberry pie filling so I used cherry. 1 can didn't seem like enough so I used 2. I had to use 1/2 a cup of whatever nuts I had lying around including sunflower, peanut and pecan mix! Didn't quite have enough butter so I substituted a couple of Tbsp worth of butter-flavored shortening to make up the difference. I LOVE RECIPES THAT ARE FORGIVING! This still turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by goose1128

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hawley, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2007
So easy, you can do this with any combination of cake mix and fruit pie filling. Chocolate cake with cherry pie filling (no nuts) has become a cherished favorite in my circle of friends - and they can't believe how easy it is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middleton, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2007
This is a great recipe!! SO YUMMY!! I get such great raves when I take this to work or family function. I used crushed pineapple instead of lemon juice. Even my husband eats this and he NEVER eats sweets!!! That says alot!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2006
What a great easy recipe! I remember my mom making this but she called it Dump Cake. I substituted cherry pie filling and used sliced almonds. I accidentally bought a 30oz can of pie filling, but I think it ended up being just the right amount.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Immokalee, Florida, USA
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2005
Very good, although I changed it a fair amount to fit with what I had in mind. I used 6 cups fresh blueberries (YUM!) and made them into pie filling by following the measurements on the back of the tapioca box and then cooking them on the stove for about 10 minutes. Instead of white cake mix for the topping, I used a Krusteaz Crumb Cake mix (I combined the 2 packets then put butter in)--more of a cinnamony, deep flavor. It was really yummy, although next time I will probably put in a cup or so of oats so it will be more "crumbly" (this time it was just dough that I had to break into little pieces on top of the blueberries. Or maybe I'll cut in the butter instead of melting). All in all, it was WONDERFUL, especially with vanilla ice cream. My husband went straight for the leftovers when he got home from work!!! BTW, this recipe reminds me strongly of a recipe my mom used to make called "Dump Cake".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Clovis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2005
This is my absolute favorite dessert recipe. I have made it many, many, many times always with rave reviews. It is so easy and so delicious -- warm or cold. I do not like real sweet or fat filled desserts. I use 2 Jiffy cake mixes with 4 1/2 Tablespoons of butter instead of 1/2 cup as called for in the recipe. I usually make it with berries that I canned or froze. I add only as much sugar as I like in my desserts. When I use canned pie filling, I always buy the light ones that are not as sweet. I usually add a few more nuts that called for in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2005
This is just so good and easy to make! Yes it's sweet...it's a dessert so I'd be upset if it weren't. The important thing is it tastes great and it's easy to throw together at the last minute!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Merritt Island, Florida, USA
Living In: Saint Cloud, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2004
This is really good! Yes, sweet, but aren't desserts supposed to be sweet? I made mine with a can of apple pie filling and a small handful of fresh blueberries thrown in (it's what I had). I added a teaspoon or so of cinnamon to the cake mix and omitted the lemon juice. And I used walnuts instead of pecans. Nummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Abby M

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2003
To me this serves the same purpose as those novelty fruit pies in the Hostess section served as a kid -- over-sweet and over-rich, but once in awhile seemed like a good idea. The flavors tasted very artificial to me and is just about nutritionally bankrupt, but cures a sweet tooth right quick. My son liked the buttery topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Chef John's Blueberry Clafoutis

See how to make a super quick-and-easy fruit dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States