Blueberry Crumble Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2015
A big hit at our neighbor's BBQ. I would have liked to have a little more crumb batter, however...probably because I used about 3 cups of blueberries instead of 2! These were a bit sweet but not TOO sweet. Still, I might consider reducing the sugar next time by 1/4 to 1/2 cup and adding more cinnamon. We served this with vanilla ice cream on top and a guest who says she never even eats dessert had two helpings! You can vary this recipe in many ways, with different fruits, and always know you'll have a delicious dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tara Lazar

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2015
These were very good. I did make a few alterations. Instead of all white sugar for the crumb I used half light brown sugar and half white and added a 1/4 teaspoon of penzy baking spice. I put in a teaspoon of vanilla with the blueberry sauce and used 3/4 of the amount of sugar because I used fresh blueberries from my garden and they are sweeter than store bought. Overall it's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2015
I made this recipe using blueberries and raspberries. I got rave reviews for them. One person even told her neighbors how great the bars were. Thank you for this wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2015
I cut the recipe in half since I only had one cup of blueberries. Results were awesome and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sandra
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2015
These are very good and would be even better with a scoop of ice cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2015
“WE’VE GOT A WIIIIIIINNER!!” So said the voice bellowing from the family room into the kitchen, where I was cleaning up after supper. Truth be told, I was surprised; I was not expecting that great a review of these bars from Hubs at all. They looked a little dry to me. In fact, I thought maybe I had over baked them. Earlier, as I was putting these bars together, I was a little disappointed; the blueberry filling looked skimpy to me. Throwing caution to the wind, I tossed in another handful of berries, filling up the “blank” spaces, so I knew I had to be sure to bake them long enough. I hoped for the best. Well, it obviously was okay. But I still had to see for myself. Hubs, neat freak that he is, used a fork. I did not, and the bar held together nicely. Also, I’m glad I threw in that extra handful of blueberries, but I would have liked a little extra juiciness, so if I make these again, I’ll have to remember to increase all filling ingredients “by a handful.” (For a half recipe in an 8x8" pan) These are fresh tasting, flavorful and buttery and, interestingly, the next day the topping is still as it came out of the oven, not soggy as I had expected.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2015
I didn't have fresh berries but did have canned blueberry pie filling. Made the crust, spread the pie filling over and then topped with reserved crumbs. Worked like a charm. Fast, easy and delicious. Only had whipped topping but DH is bringing home vanilla ice cream to top another scoop of this fantastic dessert tonight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gail Cobile

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spotsylvania, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2015
I just made these and they are terrific. My son was trying to cut them when they first came out of the oven, I had to watch him. They were delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deanna Reyes Silva

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2015
Absolutely delicious just as written! We don't even bother trying to cut these into squares. We just scoop it out into a bowl and add some fresh whipped cream (or vanilla ice cream) and we are good to go!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2015
The concept here was a good one. I thought it was too much crumble and not enough blueberry. And I started out by using almost 3 cups of blueberries rather than 2. I may try it again sometime but I'll double the blueberry part.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Blueberry Shortbread Bars

See how to make delicious fresh berry bars.

Blueberry Crumb Bars

See how to make simple, scrumptious blueberry bar cookies.

Very Best Blueberry Cobbler

A gooey blueberry cobbler with a light, cakey topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States