Blueberry Crumb Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: May 8, 2011
It was very good but a bit too sweet. I used thawed blueberries and added 2 Tbls of cornstarch. I will make this again and again but with less sugar. The topping was wonderfully crumbly
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
Absolutely Delicious! This was my first pie and it came out amazingly! I was a tad upset that there wasn't a recipe for the crust. Since this was my first time making a pie I just picked up a crust-in-a-box. This did not turn out like I wanted. I will take up everyone else's advice to use the flaky crust recipe that is also on the site. It would have made it even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
Yum!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Augusta, Maine, USA
Living In: Willmar, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
I'm reviewing this recipe as written. It has good flavor, but VERY RUNNY. I used frozen blueberries, and although the recipe says either fresh or frozen, using frozen doesn't work. I even added 1 Tablespoon of Corn Starch to the flour mixture, but that didn't help. I expected the pie to be a little runny at first, but now that it's been sitting for almost 2 days, it's still more like blueberry soup. And now the corn starch and flour have created a kind of thin paste on the bottom, so I now have a nice crispy crumbly topping (best part), then cooked from frozen blueberries in blueberry soup, then thin paste, then soft crust. And I hate that this has pretty much ruined my beautiful home-made crust from soaking in the pastey soup. So I recommend that if you use frozen blueberries, you cook them first with some corn starch to make a syrup. Or try a different recipe but use this crumb topping. It is good. And besides the soupyness, the flavor is really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
Truly a perfect blueberry pie. If yours tend to turn out runny, try tapioca instead of flour in the filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
I can't even cook and this pie was pretty dang good. All my blueberry mixture did not fit but I'm glad I piled them high because after cooking, they all set in nicely. Topping was also a bit too much but even though you may think you are putting too much on, after cooking, it really thins out. But overall, it was fantastic! (I used frozen blueberries and no lemon zest)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
Even for a sweet tooth, this recipe calls for way too much sugar. It was good, but the natural flavor of the fruit is overwhelmed by the sugar content. Also I could only get 3 cups of berries to fit in the pie and had more crumble mixture than I could cram into the pieshell.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
This is my favorite pie recipe. I have made it over and over. Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
Used fresh picked blueberries - very tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
This was great! Made with frozen berries and now I can't wait to try it with fresh, but good either way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jamers9050

Displaying results 71-80 (of 211) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Creamy Blueberry Pie

See how to make a simple custardy blueberry pie that's not too sweet.

Blackberry and Blueberry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart, two-berry pie from scratch.

Blueberry Pie

Make a delicious fresh blueberry pie, complete with lattice crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States