Blueberry Crumb Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2013
Great recipe but a little too much sugar and definitely will add cornstarch next time. I will recommend only 1/2 c. white sugar in with the blueberries. The lemon juice is fine, but squeeze it over the top of the berries before they are placed in the flour/sugar. There is absolutely no way to mix it in after coating the berries. (Duh!) The lemon zest is totally unnecessary. I used frozen Dole Blueberries and they were great. Note to self: EVERY pie recipe in this world that calls for sugar ALSO needs salt, at least 1/2 teaspoon, whether the recipe calls for lemon juice or not.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Staten McNeil

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2013
Tasted really good, but didn't set up. Needs cornstarch or some other thickening agent. LOVE the crumb topping though!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2013
Delicious! I did cut the sugar mixed with the berries to ¼ cup and I thought it was perfect. Barely tart and avoided being overly sweet with the added topping. I served it cool and it had set up perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2013
Tasty but a bit too sweet. Yummy crumbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2013
This was the first time I'd used frozen blueberries for pies so I was nervous as I was taking them to a family dinner. On the advise of others I thawed the berries in a colander to remove some juice and added a tbsp of cornstarch to the sugar/flour mixture. It was perfect! Highly recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2013
The recipe tasted great, but it was complete soup. I used frozen fresh blueberries. I let them thoroughly defrost to eliminate any extra moisture. I added a bit extra flour to the filling per suggestion, and I still ended up with blueberries floating in liquid with a crumb top. I don't think it will be a small fix, but when I figure out how to adequately thicken up the soup, it will be great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Troy, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2013
Best pie ever. New favorite type of pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2013
This is the best blueberry pie I've ever had. I didn't add cornstarch; just let the frozen berries drain and poured off the juice. We ate it when it was still warm and it was fabulous! No more messing with double crust blueberry pies for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
Thank you! Lemon really complimented blueberries! Will make again and again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by beautifuldayinca

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2013
Very good,I shrunk the recipe and made 2 little pies. I also added a little granny smith apple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 217) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Creamy Blueberry Pie

See how to make a simple custardy blueberry pie that's not too sweet.

Blackberry and Blueberry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart, two-berry pie from scratch.

Blueberry Pie

Make a delicious fresh blueberry pie, complete with lattice crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States