Blueberry Crumb Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by DinaLaChef
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2015
What a delicious pie! A great way to make the typical blueberry pie special. The changes I made were cutting white sugar back slightly to 1/2 cup and 2 tablespoons, added natural sweetness of 1/3 cup honey, and used 1/2 teaspoon vanilla. I used 4 cups of blueberries, which, once I added the topping, filled out the 9 inch glass pie dish perfectly. I also added in 1 1/2 tablespoon of corn starch based in others' reviews when I mixed the dry ingredients (before adding in the lemon rind and juice). I use Ruth's Grandma's Pie Crust recipe from here. I baked it for 50 minutes, then let it sit in the oven another five minutes to brown a bit more. It was a huge hit at my 12 person dinner party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DinaLaChef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2015
OMG this was fantastic!!!! I made the basic flaky pie crust but it did not make enough to cover the sides of the pie but it was tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2015
I added some lemon curd, spread it on the crust before you put the berries in, also a a small handful of oats to the topping...yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2015
Mine didn't work: it was too liquidy. Also too much sugar. I liked the crumbly topping though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2015
Very good but I made a few changes which made all the difference. Instead of using flour with the filling, I used lemon Jello. The blueberries tend to get very juicy and almost watery making the pie more of soup. Also if you use frozen blueberries thaw them first otherwise the topping is tough to put on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2015
Amazing! My family asked me to make it twice in one week! Also made it with the butter crust, worth making your own. Thank you for making cape cod a little closer to Denver!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2015
A bit too sweet so would cut the sugar a bit next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
Did not farewell with the frozen blueberries...turned into blueberry soup in a pie shell....maybe if I had thawed & drained the liquid it might have worked...may try again, sorry no picture, again...did not turn out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
Great recipe! To avoid runny blueberries I add 1/4 cup tapioca to the filling, and sprinkle a little more just before I add the topping, works wonders and doesn't alter the taste of the pie one bit! It's my go-to recipe, and my family loves it! Works great as a mixed berry pie as well, I've done it for just blueberry, or with raspberries, blackberries, blueberries, strawberries, and pomegranate seeds. This recipe never fails!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2014
The BEST blueberry pie/crisp EVER! I've tried many, and this is hands down, THE BEST!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 223) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Blueberry Pie

See how to make a simple custardy blueberry pie that's not too sweet.

Blackberry and Blueberry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart, two-berry pie from scratch.

Blueberry Pie

Make a delicious fresh blueberry pie, complete with lattice crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States