Blueberry Crumb Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
This was a great blueberry pie! I made it exactly as recipe stated, except for adding 2T of cornstarch per other reviewers(which, of course, does not affect the flavor). I'm glad I did because the pie turned out to have just the right amount of juiciness. I used a 9" pie pan and it was very full, but not so full that I thought a 10" pie pan would be necessary. You could probably use a 10" with no problem though. My husband loved this pie. I served it with Cool Whip and it was terrific!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Recovery, Ohio, USA
Living In: Starkville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2012
I have made this pie twice. AWESOME, AWESOME, recipe!! I was unsure about the lemon juice and zest, but using them both really brought out the true flavor in the blueberries; which i did use fresh. Thanks for sharing this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Jackson, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Woodbridge, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
I add quite a bit of ginger to this. Both to the pie and to the topping. My husband's favorite now and his request for his birthday.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
I made this pie for thanksgiving with graham crust instead of standard pie crust and with fresh blueberries. While it made it hard to cut actual pie pieces, it was the hit of the desserts! We were calling it blueberry mush cobbler but it was being called the "best blueberry mush ever" by my family. Next time, I will make it as a cobbler!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
This is great. This was my first time making a pie and my four year-old and I made it; it was a simple recipe to follow and the results were great. The only thing I would change next time is the amount of sugar used. The pie came out great, but I think it would still have been a hit with a little less sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
My 3 kids and I (my oldest just turned 4) love this recipe. My 3 year old daughter has Celiac Disease and this recipe is easy to tweek all of the flour out of. We either use a gluten-free frozen crust, a jiffy gluten-free crust mix, or omit the crust altogether and bake in a greased casserole dish (everyone seems to love this best). Instead of flour for the crumb topping we use corn meal or rice flour. The corn meal gives it a grainy texture and the rice flour gives it a much smoother texture. We always use frozen blueberries for this recipe. The filling will be MUCH TOO RUNNY without adding a thickener. We have made this recipe at least 15 times and I have found that letting the berries thaw and adding 1 tablespoon of instant tapioca works the best. The filling jells a bit and holds up to the large amount of crumble topping much better than adding a flour or corn starch to it. Overall we love this recipe and its something quick, easy, cheap, and my kids can lend a hand, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
I only put half a cup of sugar and that was plenty sweet, especially with the crumb topping. I also followed the recommendation of adding 2 tablespoons of cornstarch to thicken it. Quite yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crunchy-p

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
OMG. This pie is delicious!! I love it and make it every time we have guests. It always gets rave reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
This was the perfect combination of pie & crumble. I used fresh blackberries and it was awesome! Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2011
This is a great pie. Because I was taking it to a friend some distance away, I made it in a deep square pan. I let the crust fold a little bit over the crumb topping. added oatmeal and chopped nuts to the topping. It looks so pretty...Good enough to eat! Thanks for the wonderful recipe!!! I love Allrecipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jamestown, New York, USA
Living In: Holiday, Florida, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 215) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Creamy Blueberry Pie

See how to make a simple custardy blueberry pie that's not too sweet.

Blackberry and Blueberry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart, two-berry pie from scratch.

Blueberry Pie

Make a delicious fresh blueberry pie, complete with lattice crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States