Blueberry Crumb Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
This is great. This was my first time making a pie and my four year-old and I made it; it was a simple recipe to follow and the results were great. The only thing I would change next time is the amount of sugar used. The pie came out great, but I think it would still have been a hit with a little less sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
My 3 kids and I (my oldest just turned 4) love this recipe. My 3 year old daughter has Celiac Disease and this recipe is easy to tweek all of the flour out of. We either use a gluten-free frozen crust, a jiffy gluten-free crust mix, or omit the crust altogether and bake in a greased casserole dish (everyone seems to love this best). Instead of flour for the crumb topping we use corn meal or rice flour. The corn meal gives it a grainy texture and the rice flour gives it a much smoother texture. We always use frozen blueberries for this recipe. The filling will be MUCH TOO RUNNY without adding a thickener. We have made this recipe at least 15 times and I have found that letting the berries thaw and adding 1 tablespoon of instant tapioca works the best. The filling jells a bit and holds up to the large amount of crumble topping much better than adding a flour or corn starch to it. Overall we love this recipe and its something quick, easy, cheap, and my kids can lend a hand, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
I only put half a cup of sugar and that was plenty sweet, especially with the crumb topping. I also followed the recommendation of adding 2 tablespoons of cornstarch to thicken it. Quite yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crunchy-p

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
OMG. This pie is delicious!! I love it and make it every time we have guests. It always gets rave reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
This was the perfect combination of pie & crumble. I used fresh blackberries and it was awesome! Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2011
This is a great pie. Because I was taking it to a friend some distance away, I made it in a deep square pan. I let the crust fold a little bit over the crumb topping. added oatmeal and chopped nuts to the topping. It looks so pretty...Good enough to eat! Thanks for the wonderful recipe!!! I love Allrecipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jamestown, New York, USA
Living In: Holiday, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2011
I have my own crust recipe, and my own crumble topping recipe so I just used the filling recipe and I LOVE IT! I've made this pie several times now, and everyone raves over it! I love the little pop of citrus which compliments the blueberries perfectly. It thickended perfectly and was not runny at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by msgalfriend
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2011
Can't think of hurricane Irene but I did think about making something with blueberries and this Blueberry Crumb came out delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by msgalfriend

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milford, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
Great recipe! Added about 2 Tbsp cornstarch and it was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PASTRYPIXIE

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Manville, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mi ~ (a PRO at) Being Mi
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2011
Very good pie! Thanks for sharing, MissBethany!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mi ~ (a PRO at) Being Mi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alma, Michigan, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 211) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Creamy Blueberry Pie

See how to make a simple custardy blueberry pie that's not too sweet.

Blackberry and Blueberry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart, two-berry pie from scratch.

Blueberry Pie

Make a delicious fresh blueberry pie, complete with lattice crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States