Blueberry Crumb Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2011
This pie is amazing! I used two pints fresh blueberries and it was delicious! Best blueberry pie I have had in years, possibly ever!!! BTW-I skipped the zest because I didn't have it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
We love this pie! We had some fresh picked wild blackberries and didn't know what to do with them. After a little research, we found this recipe and adapted it to our liking. We used the blackberries, some blueberries, a few strawberries and some cut-up apples. Nothing was frozen. We used 1/4 cup of brown sugar for the filling because the blackberries were super sweet and followed the rest of the recipe. Our pie crust was a frozen type. So we baked that for 10-15 minutes before adding the filling. For the topping, in addition to the rest of the ingredients, we added a dash of nutmeg and used butter that slightly chilled (easier to crumble). Oh did I mention that we used wheat flour for the crust, filling and topping. The nice thing about this pie is that it's so versatile. The first pie had more blueberries. The next one had more blackberries. Yummo! Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2011
Fabulous pie! I made it exactly as directed. What a great hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2011
Very disappointing...The strusel topping way overpowered the blueberry flavor. No one liked this pie & we are blueberry lovers! Next time, I will make the classic 2 crust pie so the luscious fruit flavor gets center stage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2011
this pie is delicious! i made it as it is written... it was ok. I do, however, believe that the crumb topping is too much. I would just cut down on portions for the topping. I personally enjoy more filling and less topping. The flavor is great and is just like my mom makes! Next time i'm adding more blueberries and less crumb mixture, that's the only change i would make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2011
I used a little less sugar (only 1/2 cup), added 1 Tbs. of corn starch and left out the zest (only because I didn't have any). I also opted to skip the pie crust and baked it in a buttered casserole dish instead. From the ease of preparation to the smell that lingers in the kitchen this recipe was a delicious success! The crunchy topping is the perfect compliment to the fresh juicy berries. Served it hot with ice cream and I can't wait to have some more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2011
It was very good but a bit too sweet. I used thawed blueberries and added 2 Tbls of cornstarch. I will make this again and again but with less sugar. The topping was wonderfully crumbly
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
Absolutely Delicious! This was my first pie and it came out amazingly! I was a tad upset that there wasn't a recipe for the crust. Since this was my first time making a pie I just picked up a crust-in-a-box. This did not turn out like I wanted. I will take up everyone else's advice to use the flaky crust recipe that is also on the site. It would have made it even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
Yum!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Augusta, Maine, USA
Living In: Willmar, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
I'm reviewing this recipe as written. It has good flavor, but VERY RUNNY. I used frozen blueberries, and although the recipe says either fresh or frozen, using frozen doesn't work. I even added 1 Tablespoon of Corn Starch to the flour mixture, but that didn't help. I expected the pie to be a little runny at first, but now that it's been sitting for almost 2 days, it's still more like blueberry soup. And now the corn starch and flour have created a kind of thin paste on the bottom, so I now have a nice crispy crumbly topping (best part), then cooked from frozen blueberries in blueberry soup, then thin paste, then soft crust. And I hate that this has pretty much ruined my beautiful home-made crust from soaking in the pastey soup. So I recommend that if you use frozen blueberries, you cook them first with some corn starch to make a syrup. Or try a different recipe but use this crumb topping. It is good. And besides the soupyness, the flavor is really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 197) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Blueberry Pie

See how to make a simple custardy blueberry pie that's not too sweet.

Blackberry and Blueberry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart, two-berry pie from scratch.

Blueberry Pie

Make a delicious fresh blueberry pie, complete with lattice crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States