Blueberry Crumb Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by GlimmerGal
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2007
I thought this was an excellent recipe. As you can see from my photo, there are a lot of blueberries in this one. I would reduce the blueberries to 1 cup next time. The crumb topping is what makes this one a winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GlimmerGal

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2007
I made these muffins and was very underwhelmed with the results. The topping just melted and spilled over the edge and got the muffins all soggy. The directions needs to say to fill the muffin pans only half way not 3/4. I will not make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MEGLANGFORD
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2006
Delicious! The crumb topping really makes it a step above other recipes. I made a few without the crumbs for people in case they didn't want the extra sugar, but the first ones snatched up were the wonderful-looking crumb-topped muffins. This recipe was a hit and I had almost everything on hand. My only change: too many blueberries in the recipe, I only used about 1 cup, and the muffins were still very moist. I only baked them for 18 minutes. Thanks for a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEGLANGFORD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lake Forest, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2007
Were very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jill

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: North Syracuse, New York, USA
Living In: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2007
To reviewer Joeys_girl_73, don't get disheartened--I still have flops after 35 years of baking! The flavor of these muffins was OK--could have benefitted from the addition of vanilla and maybe a little spice in the batter--but the amount of blueberries was too much for the small amount of batter. I wouldn't recommend making larger muffins like I did (I made eight) because they were too moist and turned out more like a blueberry cobbler, in spite of baking for 30 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRANNYLOOHOO

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Bixby, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Magnolia, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Terry
Reviewed: May 3, 2011
These muffins are fantastic. I didn't have any problems with butter melting into muffins..or burning etc. They came out picture perfect as you can see and just enough blueberries(can never be too much) I did add a little cinnamon and vanilla(two of my favorites)! I didn't read all the reviews until they were happily in the oven and I was a bit freaked out and was a worried I had picked the wrong recipe. I even made extra crumbles but they came out delicious! I cut them in 1/2 warm and put a scoop of vanilla ice cream on top and they were to die for! Will make again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2011
These were so heavy and sweet. I didn't like them at all. The whole point of blueberry muffins to me is to have sweet berries. The sweet in this recipe killed the blueberry flavor. And I don't like cinnamon with blueberries either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2011
Tart and moist. I don't like my pastries too sweet so this was perfect but I can see if you do, then this recipe isn't for you. I personally liked the 1-1/2 cup blueberries where other reviewers thought that was too much. It gave it a nice tartness that I prefer. I will add a pinch of all-spice to give it a little more flavor next time. Mine only took 20 minutes and they were perfectly done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2006
I have no idea what I did wrong... I followed the recipe to the T and they came out like burnt stones. The butter from the crumb mixture melted down and burnt the bottoms, the sugar mixure on top melted and burned and cemented itself to the pan... Everything that could have possibly gone wrong did. I will try this recipe again, just because I have never in my life burned anything before this and I am terribly disheartened. Maybe when I make it again, I will nix the crumb topping. In any case, I'm out the blueberries that where ridiculously expensive and a surprise breakfast treat for my boyfriend. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by millie201188

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2006
These are simply delicious! The perfect amount of sweetness with the crumble on top. Made a double batch for a couple friends who are recent moms and ended up saving a bunch for us because they were too good to part with!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

See how to make big bakery-style blueberry muffins!

Low-Fat Blueberry Bran Muffins

These muffins are so moist and flavorful, you won't believe they're healthy, too!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States