Blueberry Crumb Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2010
These were OK...not the greatest. The crumb topping melted all over the place. Maybe it would be better to add this later in the baking process or something. So...not very crumbly. Also they are very plain, they could use some vanilla or cinnamon or something in the batter itself to give them more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2010
I just baked the batch of these. The batter is ok but the topping is not what is crumb really is. The ingredients for the "crumb" has too much butter and not enough flour hence that is why it sinks..I would use batter again but I would use different recipe or change up the topping like add more flour, cut back on butter add baking powder, baking soda as this would actually "crumb" up even though cutting with a pastry utensil. I would though change the baking powder and add baking soda to the batter as it would help it rise more as I filled the muffin tins almost to the brim so I could have a "muffin top". This recipe is certainly not a crumb kind..its more of a sugary topping at least that sinks as the butter melts and its to heavy for the batter..For future.. I would let the muffins bake for about 12 minutes to set up, then add crumb topping (revised version) so topping won't sink nor melt all the way through. I would use starbuck's recipe for crumb topping!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WickedCreations

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Olmsted Falls, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2010
I tried this recipe this morning..for breakfast. I left out the crumb topping because I needed to get it done quick so that my hubby could eat them before he left for work. As per other reviewers' suggestions I added 1 tsp of vanilla and a 1/4 tsp of cinnamon to the batter to spice it up a notch. I also added only 1 Cup of blue berries instead of 1.5 Cups. I did find that the batter was way too thick for my liking so I added a bit more milk to thin it out. I baked for 30 mins in the convection oven and overall I am pleased with the result. I will definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiffany

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2010
I listened to the other reviews and only used 1 cup of blueberrys and let me tell you these things are great!!! I ate all 12 in 1 day and I am not a big eater. excellent recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2010
This recipe turned out wonderfully with a little tweaking. I added 1/4 tsp Cinnamon and 1 tsp vanilla to the batter. I also had to add a little more milk to thin out the batter. I also added cinnamon to the topping as well as additional flour and sugar to get the right crummy consistency. After these changes, they came out excellent and I was very pleased!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy Mallett

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2010
This recipe was out of this world. I added 1/2 a cup of chocolate chips. Today I am going to try a lighter version with splenda in the base mix and wheat flour. This should be exciting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2010
I'm giving it 4 stars because I must have done something wrong. The crumb part sunk to the bottom and made the bottoms mushy. I made them for dessert but called them "Blueberry Upside Down Muffins" cause we inverted them onto the plate. Next time I'll dot the crumb part around instead of 1 blob.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by juliasmama06

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2010
Just baked these muffins and LOVE them. Easy and quick to prepare and the crumb topping sets them apart from your ordinary every day blueberry muffin. My family love them!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2010
I substituted freash strawberries instead of blueberries and it was wonderfull!! I just couldnt find any strawberry muffin recipes that suited me so i switched this one up. I used 1 1/2 cups of diced fresh strawberries and mixed 2 tbs of white suagr and let them sit while i mixed the batter and then added them as instructed like the blueberries and they turned out amazing! 5 Stars!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Abby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2010
This was the BEST blueberry muffin i've EVER eaten...my college son baked them for breakfast on my birthday last week...definately a keeper! I was wondering about adding some wheat germ.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

See how to make big bakery-style blueberry muffins!

Low-Fat Blueberry Bran Muffins

These muffins are so moist and flavorful, you won't believe they're healthy, too!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States