Blueberry Crumb Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Lauraaah
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
I followed everyone's comments and added 1/4 cup of oats to the crumble, a 1/4 tsp of vanilla extra to the mix for flavor, and filled a little less than 3/4ths and baked it 18 minutes. Turned out excellent! Thank you all again for your comments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2014
I was kind of disappointed in this muffin. I had picked fresh berries that were on the tart side, so I thought, "crumb muffins!" I was imagining a soft, fluffy muffin with a beautiful peak, covered with a crumbly sweet topping. The muffins baked up with flat tops, and the "crumb" baked right down into the muffins. Some of them look like volcanoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gallegos752
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2014
Taste good. Used buttermilk instead of regular milk. Crumb topping needs some work. Some vanilla couldn't hurt either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2014
Amazing! Loved it! New favorite Saturday morning breakfast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookieGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Aurora, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: May 13, 2014
These blueberry muffins are the best! They absolutely disappeared. I used frozen blueberries and maybe even a smidgen more than the cup and a half called for and they were perfect. We all loved the crumb topping. It wasn't your run-of-the-mill finish as it had a nice little caramel flavor. These would be good with raspberries too. I'm happy to have found a great recipe for blueberry muffins to replace the store bought option with excess fat, sugar, and chemicals for preservation.Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Diamondzndirt
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
Messy but amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
I have to agree with the reviewer who was disappointed that the crumb topping made a mess. Mine ran all over the pan. There wasn't much crumb left, just a kind of glaze. I'll look for another crumb topping for my next try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2013
So whatever you do, don't follow the crumb topping recipe. First, there are better ones and I have never seen one with so much flour and so much butter. I made my own following another crumb topping recipe which was much better. I am not sure how those of you following the recipe did not have issues with the topping. Otherwise, the cupcakes were good. I hardly ever review but I felt compelled because this crumb topping is not well done. For a better topping, try this one: 1/8 teaspoon cinnamon 1/3 cup of brown sugar 2 tbls flour In a small bowl, mix together brown sugar, 2 tablespoons flour and cinnamon. Cut in 1 tablespoon butter until mixture resembles coarse cornmeal. Sprinkle topping over muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
The muffins were tasty, but I had the problem noted by other reviewers where the topping melted into the muffins and spilled all over the place.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thinkpositive40

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jarrettsville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Laurel, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
These are very good. I followed the recipe except that I added buttermilk instead of milk. I always substitute applesauce for the oil in muffins and did so here. I used equal amounts of applesauce and 1T of oil in place of 1/3 cup oil. I used frozen blueberries tossed with flour and they worked fine. I made 9 and they rose beautifully! I made sure to spray the top of muffin tin so the tops would not stick. Baked for 30 min (I live at high altitude) and they were beautifully golden brown and crisp on the tops but moist and cake like on the inside. I would probably add a little more sugar, possibly a 1/4 of a cup, to the batter. I only put a small amount of the topping on as I wanted to see how they rose. I will definitely make again but try apple next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Selkirk, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

See how to make big bakery-style blueberry muffins!

Low-Fat Blueberry Bran Muffins

These muffins are so moist and flavorful, you won't believe they're healthy, too!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States