Blueberry Crumb Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
I have to agree with the reviewer who was disappointed that the crumb topping made a mess. Mine ran all over the pan. There wasn't much crumb left, just a kind of glaze. I'll look for another crumb topping for my next try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2013
So whatever you do, don't follow the crumb topping recipe. First, there are better ones and I have never seen one with so much flour and so much butter. I made my own following another crumb topping recipe which was much better. I am not sure how those of you following the recipe did not have issues with the topping. Otherwise, the cupcakes were good. I hardly ever review but I felt compelled because this crumb topping is not well done. For a better topping, try this one: 1/8 teaspoon cinnamon 1/3 cup of brown sugar 2 tbls flour In a small bowl, mix together brown sugar, 2 tablespoons flour and cinnamon. Cut in 1 tablespoon butter until mixture resembles coarse cornmeal. Sprinkle topping over muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
The muffins were tasty, but I had the problem noted by other reviewers where the topping melted into the muffins and spilled all over the place.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thinkpositive40

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jarrettsville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Laurel, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
These are very good. I followed the recipe except that I added buttermilk instead of milk. I always substitute applesauce for the oil in muffins and did so here. I used equal amounts of applesauce and 1T of oil in place of 1/3 cup oil. I used frozen blueberries tossed with flour and they worked fine. I made 9 and they rose beautifully! I made sure to spray the top of muffin tin so the tops would not stick. Baked for 30 min (I live at high altitude) and they were beautifully golden brown and crisp on the tops but moist and cake like on the inside. I would probably add a little more sugar, possibly a 1/4 of a cup, to the batter. I only put a small amount of the topping on as I wanted to see how they rose. I will definitely make again but try apple next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Selkirk, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2011
This muffin recipe is absolutley delicious! My girls ages 4 and 5 gobbled it up. I did however add 1/2 tsp. of vanilla and used buttermilk in place of the milk. A little difficult to get out of the muffin tin even after spraying with pam. Next time I will use muffin liners.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2011
i thought this recipe was a good jump-start. i added vanilla and a bit of cinnamon. didn't do the streusel... instead i just sprinkled with white and brown sugar. next time i won't add as much blueberries because the muffin was hard to eat in one piece. otherwise, really delicious and great moist and cakey texture!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2011
I think this is a great recipe, my family loved them, the only think I suggest is 2 add more of the crumb toping then a small amount.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2011
Very good! I only used 1 cup of blueberries. Added in a package of vanilla instant pudding mix to the dry mix. They came out lovely in 20 minutes! Crumb topping was yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CanuckMom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2011
These were so heavy and sweet. I didn't like them at all. The whole point of blueberry muffins to me is to have sweet berries. The sweet in this recipe killed the blueberry flavor. And I don't like cinnamon with blueberries either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2011
I did enjoy the muffins, but I would say substitute the oil for applesauce.. keeps them moist and they come out amazing. also blueberries I'd say 1cup is PLENTY maybe even over kill! All depends on what you feel is enough, and the batter make sure you taste it before it goes in the oven. I ended up adding a little bit more cinnamon to it, but it all depends on taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiffany

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Daytona Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

See how to make big bakery-style blueberry muffins!

Low-Fat Blueberry Bran Muffins

These muffins are so moist and flavorful, you won't believe they're healthy, too!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States