Blueberry Crumb Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2007
I'VE MADE 4 PANS OF THESE IN JUST ONE WEEK. FIRST PAN FOR HOME TRIAL USING JUST WHITE SUGAR.....VERY GOOD. NEXT THREE PANS (ONE FOR A COOKOUT, ONE FOR A GRADUATION PARTY & ONE TO GO TO W/MY SON TO N.HAMPSHIRE FOR A NASCAR RACE) I USED 1/2 C. WHITE SUGAR & 1/2 C. LIGHT BROWN SUGAR FOR CRUST....EVEN BETTER. ALSO ADDED 1 TSP. VANILLA EXTRACT TO BEATEN EGG. I'LL BE MAKING THEM AGAIN THIS WEEK FOR MY BEST FRIEND'S BIRTHDAY. THEY DO TRAVEL EXTREMELY WELL. SINCE I LIVE IN NEW ENGLAND, I'VE TAKEN ADVANTAGE OF THE FRESH BLUEBERRIES THAT ARE AT THEIR PEAK.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
476 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bristol, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2006
Really yummy! I used butter instead of shortening, and used frozen berries. I cut the recipe in half too, and used part whole-wheat pastry flour. I did the "dough" in my food processor, and it never really came together, it was just a powdery mixture. I thought it wouldn't work, but went ahead with it anyways and it all came together during baking. These turned out really well. For those of you that said the dough part didn't have any real flavor, it's probably due to the shortening. Shortening has no real flavor (plus it's yucky and bad for you). Try butter, it's so much better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
296 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2002
I can't begin to say how great this recipe is! My sister told me it was good, so I decided to give it a try. Boy, was she right! It is crumbly, but I just added a little liquid (water mixed with lemon juice and vanilla for extra flavor) to the half of crumbs used for the base, and pre-cooked it for about 5 minutes. The base was not nearly as crumbly as the top this way. FYI, I used frozen berries for this, without defrosting first, and it baked up perfectly in the same amount of time. ETA that I have only ever used butter with this recipe- I do not cook with shortening. I also use at least half whole wheat flour. Healthier and tastier!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
249 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Owego, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2004
Made these bars several times, most recently for a bridal shower and they were a big hit. I made a few changes in the recipe. I used real butter instead of the shortening and it made a HUGE difference in the taste. Delicious! Since fresh blueberries are not in season now, I used frozen Maine blueberries (very big bag for under $5.00) that were purchased in the freezer section at Costco.) I didn't thaw them, just used them directly from the bag and the bars came out fantastic. I made these bars several times and found that you have to bake them a bit longer to get them lightly browned on top..I baked them for 55 minutes. Also, when topping with the remaining crumbs, make sure you squeeze the crumb mixture in your hands to form the crumbs before sprinkling on the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
138 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2007
I followed the advice of other reviewers and used butter instead of shortening. I also used frozen berries, straight from the freezer and the result was good although if you do this, you'll need to add to the cooking time by about 15 minutes. It's also a good idea to add an extra tsp. of corn starch and be sure to let them set up for an hour or two before cutting for a clean cut. These would be really good served on a plate with a scoop of vanilla ice cream. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2003
Delicious!! I used a mixture of frozen berries: Blueberries, Raspberries, and Blackberries. I also substituted butter for the shortning and added a small amount of almond extract to the crust. It turned out amazing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2005
Great recipe! Since there are only the two of us, I cut the recipe in half and baked it in an 8x8" pan. Turned out perfect. I also grated a little orange rind in with the frozen blueberries that I used. Actually, my hubby loved this so much I should have made the bigger size!! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DELTAQUEEN50

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rebecca Bekki Rodriguez
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2006
WOW!! These are delicious! Better then any blueberry muffin recipe I have tried. I took others advice and used 1/2 cup white sugar and 1/2 cup brown sugar. I also used butter instead of shortening and a full tsp of cinnamon. I let them cool until almost cooled and then put them in the fridge before I cut them. I thought the flour mixture was a little too floury but they still turned out perfect! I will definately make these again. Maybe with cherries or apples and walnuts. Thank you for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebecca Bekki Rodriguez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coral Springs, Florida, USA
Living In: Boca Raton, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2003
With a plethera of store fresh blueberries, and company coming, I was going to bake a pie-but really felt too lazy so I tried these and WOW they are really very good!! I agree they are kind of like a crumb pie (especially having tasted it while it was still warm 'cause hubby and I couldn't bear to wait til dinner time)! Anyway, I beat the egg a little before adding it to the dough then worked the cut up two sticks of margarine (I think real butter would make these OUTSTANDINGLY rich and yummy), and egg in with my clean fingers until it was fairly crumbly-works better for me. I also added one more Tb. of cornstarch just because it has been my experience that most berry recipes never set up as much as I like. Be sure to lightly oil your pan. I also baked them at a slightly lower tempurature (my oven is weird), and added just a dash of cinnamon as well as a tiny dash of nutmeg to the crumb mixture. We're going to serve big squares of this with a scoop of vanilla ice cream on the side kind of like pie or cobbler because as others have said they are kind of crumbly. Thanks for a wonderfully good and simple recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
I gave this a 3 because I think it has potential to be a great dessert recipe! HOWEVER, it needs WAY more sugar! Blueberries are FAR too tart a fruit to serve this way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meagan621

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tipton, Iowa, USA
Living In: Groton, Connecticut, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 501) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Blueberry Crumb Bars

See how to make simple, scrumptious blueberry bar cookies.

Blueberry Shortbread Bars

See how to make delicious fresh berry bars.

Blackberry and Blueberry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart, two-berry pie from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States