Blueberry Crumb Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
You can't get much better or easier! These were pretty perfect as written...I used butter flavored Crisco and 1/2 sugar, 1/2 brown sugar in the crust. I really can't think of anything that would make these better--my family isn't much into fancy deserts with subtle flavors--these no frills bars are perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brunswick, Missouri, USA
Living In: Plantersville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2014
These were SOO easy to assemble taste fantastic. I would try making them with any fruit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zoya

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
Substituted butter for shortening, and used all brown sugar for the base. Used a food processor to cut in the butter. Chopped frozen peaches for the fruit layer so it took longer to bake. Didn't adjust anything else except that it baked in a 12 x 8 pan so the base was a bit thicker. Next time would possibly add a handful of coconut to the crumb topping, or try chopped apples and more cinnamon. Kids loved it. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise J.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Guelph, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
Great recipe. Partner, kids & I have just been blueberry picking, so needed something yummy to make. Only changes I made, was to add the rind of an orange to the crumb mix and used 2 1/2 cups of flour & 1/2cup of rolled oats instead of 3 cups of flour, making it feel healthy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
Great for using up soft fruit that is slightly past its best! For improved nutritional value I reduced the flour and sugar in the crust and substituted LSA(ground linseed, sunflower & almond). Unless you have a preference for sickeningly sweet, fruit is plenty sweet enough by itself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Paula T
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
Made these with fresh blueberries-thought they looked too thick for what I like, so I made half the crumb recipe and used a 9x13 inch pan-it was great. Be sure and refrigerate to let them set up well
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula T

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Irving, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2013
I made it with apple pie filling. Of course didn't mix it with sugar. So easy and so yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Valeria

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2013
Delicious within 2 hours of eating however steadily gets soppy. But that could be particular to crumb bars as opposed to these Blueberry Crumb Bars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2013
I cut the recipe in half for an 8" sq pan & used butter instead of shortening, the first time I used blueberries, delicious This time as I'm trying to use the pears from our tree before they go bad, (one can only eat so many raw ones)I used pears & added nutmeg & cinnamon to the pears, no additional sugar needed, It was Even Better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2013
It was good, presentation was nice but it didn't have a wow factor. It was the kind of dessert that if I saw it, I would want to try it, but would be a little disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 514) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Blueberry Crumb Bars

See how to make simple, scrumptious blueberry bar cookies.

Blueberry Shortbread Bars

See how to make delicious fresh berry bars.

(Gluten Free) Magic Cookie Bars

Watch how to make these sweet gluten-free dessert bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States