Blueberry Crumb Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 18)
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2011
I'm giving the recipe 4 stars based on the fact that the bars turned out. I followed the recipe with the exception of using half brown sugar and half white. Perhaps I would've liked them more had I used butter, but I didn't have any softened. I might try the recipe again if I have blueberries on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2011
This was REALLY simple to make - and it turned out delicious even though I didn't follow it to a tee! I used all brown sugar for the crust, added some lemon juice and actually ended up using an 8x12 and a 8x8 because I had so much extra! TIP: let cool on wire racks, and then refrigerate over night - makes cutting up pieces SO easy and they don't crumble at all!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kaaatieo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2011
I picked a ton of fresh blueberries. This was a perfect use for them. Brought it for a pot luck and people couldn't believe how easy it was to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Burtonsville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2011
Turned out nice with a subtle flavor. I used fresh cherries (had on hand), and added a tsp of vanilla to the crumb mixture. To make it healthier I substituted with 1 cup of whole wheat flour in the crumb mix, and sprinkled some ground slow oats on top as well. The squares held together very well when cooled. If I could only find fresh "sour" cherries, I think this would really boost the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2011
Just made this and it's so much better than I had expected! I followed the recipe exactly. Butter flavored shortening. Frozen blueberries. Added spices that I like, clove and cinnamon (til flour speckled slightly), to the crust, as well as vanilla w/ the egg. I didn't cook it long enough apparently so it went back in the oven to get a deeper browning (like original photo or use foil) I was worried about using the entire other half on top as I wanted more fruit than dough and some color, but the juices colored the top beautifully!! I think the berries being frozen helped maybe. Started off with my hand pastry blender but both me and my assistant (2 year old son) got bored/tired so it got thrown in the mixer. voila. SN: made these the day before a road trip so once they cooled I put them in an airtight plastic container and by the morning of our trip they were moist with a nice center and just perfect! Definitely will make these for snacks on a trip again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2011
Made with fresh strawberries for my son's graduation (his fav fruit) and it turned out fantastic. I used 7 cups of fresh berries from my garden and baked 55 minutes. I forgot the egg-no problem. I used butter, half brown & half white sugar-same for flour. I also used most of the crumb mixture for the crust and then made a crumb/pecan/oatmeal crumb topping for on top. Very excellent. I also didn't add the 1/2 cup sugar and cornstarch to my berries-didn't need to--they set up beautifully. Leftovers are eaten for breakfast with a little warm milk!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by karensue

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middlebury, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
I made these today and they are delious and I will be making these again. Thank you for sharing !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2011
Wow, these were simple, easy, and fun to make. I did add the cinnamon and used sea salt. Used butter for my shortening, and as suggested by others, added a tsp of real vanilla to my beaten egg. I also added a tablespoon of minute tapioca to the sugar cornstarch mixture for the blueberries, just to be sure it set up well. It turned out better than we were anticipating. Will absolutely try this with raspberries and cherries when they are fresh and in season, even fresh diced peaches sound good. Thanks for the simple easy recipe it is going to be a frequent request in my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2011
Delicious! I made this recipe with fresh raspberries and blueberries. I followed other reviewers' recommendations and used 1/2 c white sugar and 1/2 c brown sugar for the crust/topping, and added cinnamon and nutmeg. I also added a little bit of water and lemon juice to the bottom crust part (to make it less crumbly); and I added an extra cup of berries and at least a tsp of lemon juice to the berries, and didn't use all of the dough that was left for the topping (I wanted more fruit and less crust on top). They are really yummy. I think that next time I'll try an oatmeal streusel topping -- I think oats would taste great in this recipe:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2011
Turned out very delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 171-180 (of 528) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Blueberry Crumb Bars

See how to make simple, scrumptious blueberry bar cookies.

Blueberry Shortbread Bars

See how to make delicious fresh berry bars.

(Gluten Free) Magic Cookie Bars

Watch how to make these sweet gluten-free dessert bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States