Blueberry Crumb Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 18)
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2010
I made this yesterday because I was jonesin for something blueberry! I cut the recipe in half but otherwise followed the recipe as written. I agree with other reviewers that the taste is not overly sweet. I liked how these came out, but I think I would make a couple changes for next time. I think I will add brown sugar and some vanilla/almond extract in with the dough. Thanks for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SummerDavis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oak Forest, Illinois, USA
Living In: Frankfort, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2010
Add some Cool Whip on top and OMG!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2010
This was a recipe I've been excited to make but I made it as stated and it was not very good.. that's a 9x13 pan of not very good dessert.. such a bummer! So, if I make this again (and we'll see).. I'd use butter for a shortbread effect and add vanilla. Without those two this is just not very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookingInSeattle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2010
Easy and delicious! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheesecake*Mama

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2010
Loved, loved, loved these! The only thing I did differently was to use frozen blueberries as they were out at the supermarket.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kbvoyer
Home Town: Malden, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Salem, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
Delicious, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
My family loves this recipe. i used a little more that 4 cups of frozen wild blueberries. yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cookiemama
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2010
So, I followed other reviews and did 1/2 brown sugar and 1/2 white. Also used a cup of butter rather than shortening. Some were saying that it was too crumbly and I was serving to a standing crowd so needed them to not make a mess... I added one cup of quick cooking oats (and only used 2 1/2 cups flour) and they stayed together well. I also like the taste of oats in a bar like this! Really yummy. The blueberry layer was thick and delicious, but on the messy side. Serve with napkins. I have three toddlers and wouldn't let them near these! Overall, a fresh taste, not too rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2010
This is one of my favorite summer desserts. I have made it with just blueberries, and also with a mixture of berries. My favorite is to add mainly blueberries, and a but (like 1/3) raspberries. I used half white sugar, and half brown sugar. and butter (real butter) instead of shortening. and to avoid mushing the crust, I threw it in my food processor (just don't over mix it.) It had to be crumby!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise Moore

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2010
I got into the habit of baking for coworkers' birthdays for the past year and I always get a lot of good reviews (most things I make are from this webiste). This time I tried the blueberry crumb bars for my boss's birthday it got me a marriage proposal from a collegue who already loved everything else I've made! Some coworkers who've eaten everything I've baked but never said anything before would not stop giving compliments. I did use butter and half brown sugar, as well as salt, cinnamon, and vanilla, following other reviews. I used a 3 cup bag of frozen blueberries and a 2 cup bag of frozen berry medley (strawberries, raspberries, blueberries, blackberries). One of the easier recipes I've tried too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 171-180 (of 495) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Blueberry Crumb Bars

See how to make simple, scrumptious blueberry bar cookies.

Blueberry Shortbread Bars

See how to make delicious fresh berry bars.

Blackberry and Blueberry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart, two-berry pie from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States