Blueberry Crumb Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 18)
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2010
I got into the habit of baking for coworkers' birthdays for the past year and I always get a lot of good reviews (most things I make are from this webiste). This time I tried the blueberry crumb bars for my boss's birthday it got me a marriage proposal from a collegue who already loved everything else I've made! Some coworkers who've eaten everything I've baked but never said anything before would not stop giving compliments. I did use butter and half brown sugar, as well as salt, cinnamon, and vanilla, following other reviews. I used a 3 cup bag of frozen blueberries and a 2 cup bag of frozen berry medley (strawberries, raspberries, blueberries, blackberries). One of the easier recipes I've tried too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2010
These turned out so good! It is a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2010
mMM mmm GOOD! I also used butter like many reviewers. Turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2010
We enjoyed these a lot! I followed some of the other reviewers, added a little milk and prebaked the bottom crust, added extra cornstarch, and the best addition was the extra half cup of brown sugar to the top layer - made a nice sweet crunchy top! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Worthington, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2010
I love blueberries so anything made with them is wonderful as far as I’m concerned! I didn’t change a thing, but next time I’m going to use 1 ½ cups flour 1 ½ cups oatmeal. This would make it more of a crumb topping and the base wouldn’t be so dense! It’s a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2010
These were given rave reviews when I made them. They're not too sweet, and were the only desert gone by the end of the party. I will make again. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PATTEG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cranford, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2010
Used margarine instead of shortening. Added 1 tsp lemon juice to half of crumb mixture to use as base. Used frozen blueberries (did not thaw). Did not use salt. Next time I will not add sugar to blueberry mixture as it was VERY sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2010
Wow, these are sooooo good! I don't know if this is an appropriate breakfast, but that's what I made this for. I used butter instead of shortening, and did half brown, half white sugar only because I'm running low on white sugar. When I make these again I'll do exactly the same thing with the butter sugar and maybe even use raspberries and blueberries for the filling. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Juliann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2010
Only change was that I used butter instead of shortening. I didn't care for the crumb topping at all...it was bland. I found the blueberry filling to be dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2010
Easy and taste great! I followed other reviews by using butter, half white sugar and half brown sugar, and also added an extra tsp of cornstarch to the blueberry mix. I melted half of my butter so it was easier to mix and by doing this, my mix wasn't dry but more like cookie dough. I used 4 cups of frozen blueberry and I think it's plenty. Definitely will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 171-180 (of 486) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Blueberry Shortbread Bars

See how to make delicious fresh berry bars.

Blackberry and Blueberry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart, two-berry pie from scratch.

Playgroup Granola Bars

Chewy, healthy homemade granola bars made with oats and raisins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States