Blueberry Crumb Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2011
I made this for the first time at the fire station. this can be a risky adventure...if the meal is great then make it again. If the meal is garbage then your life is in danger. This was awesome! I went half brown and half white sugar in the crust with butter. Then I used the only berries we had: blackberries! This was great right out of the oven and great hours later. Great recipe! Fire Department Approved! I WILL MAKE THIS AGAIN!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jake's Dad

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sandy, Utah, USA
Living In: Riverton, Utah, USA
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: May 29, 2011
Mediocre, highly overrated recipe, even when prepared with the wise substitution of butter rather than shortening. Not enough filling to support the overabundant amount of flavorless crust and topping. So much tweaking is necessary in my opinion, it’s just better to start from scratch with an altogether different recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: May 22, 2011
Delicious! Made these for my daughters' AWANA celebration and they were a huge hit! I have already decided to make four more batches this week: three for neighbors & one for mu husband to take to work!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laurie S

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2011
these were so great! i made them for mother's day and everyone really enjoyed them - especially with vanilla bean ice cream on the side :) its almost a cross between a blueberry crisp and a coffee cake - the best of both worlds! very easy to make too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BECCAP

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warminster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pipersville, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2011
Made a batch of these yesterday with fresh blackberries that the kids picked. Actually, my 9 year old made these. That's how easy it was. They turned out wonderful. Had a bunch of blackberries so decided to make another batch. This time I used 1/2 white and half brown sugar. Toassed a few oats on top for presentation. Can't wait to taste the difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pensacola, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2011
So I was worried about how they'd turn out because the shortening and dry ingredients didn't "crumb" together too well. And then it took a total of about 55-60min for it to brown on top decently. However, I just cut into it and holy , is that yummy! I did half white and brown sugar for the crust, then about 4 cups of frozen blueberries (only changes made). Wonderful!!!!! The BF will love it! Will definitely be trying with other berries and will try with butter next time rather than shortening. Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nuttingh

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Holland, Michigan, USA
Living In: Marietta, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2011
These are so quick and easy to make. They stayed moist and fresh for days. Have already passed this recipe on a few times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen Nevitt Borgnini

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Noblesville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
This recipe was too dry for me. I think I would have prefered a bar with oats. It just wasn't what I thought it would be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
These are always a big hit! A must try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
Really yummy (especially hot with vanilla ice cream)! Definitely add some vanilla and do half white sugar, half brown - I also use unsalted butter instead of shortening. My husband and I both loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fayetteville, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Prairie Grove, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 487) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Blueberry Shortbread Bars

See how to make delicious fresh berry bars.

Blackberry and Blueberry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart, two-berry pie from scratch.

Playgroup Granola Bars

Chewy, healthy homemade granola bars made with oats and raisins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States