Blueberry Crumb Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
Just took out of the oven 5 minutes ago and my husband has already cut into it! He said this recipe is a keeper! I also used half brown and half white sugar for the crust and topping, and used half butter/half shortening. Also, I added a teapsoon of lemon juice and vanilla to crust mixture. Added an extra tsp on starch and an extra cup of white sugar to the blueberries. In addition, I added one chopped McIntosh apple I had left over from making pies a couple of nights ago. I will be making this again!! Thank you for shaing this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grams apprentice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Peekskill, New York, USA
Living In: Albany, New York, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2012
the best I've tasted!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by coconut cake

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2012
Big hit every time I make these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2012
Great recipe! I used half whole wheat flour/half all-purpose flour for the crust. I also used frozen blueberries & it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Renee
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2012
Nice dessert bars! I definitely would recommend using butter- flavored shortening (or butter) and sticking to all- purpose flour because you can really taste the difference. It would be fun to try out different types of berries. Great, flexible dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Indiana, USA
Living In: Clarkston, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2012
I followed a reviewer idea and used cold butter instead of shortening. I also added a bit more cinnamon and a few sprinkles of nutmeg to the fruit, I didn't have enough blueberries so I added enough thickly sliced fresh strawberries to make up the 4 cup amount. I also sprinkled a little bit of vanilla cinnamon sugar on top. It was delicious and I'll make this again and again. Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2012
Love this recipe, instead of using shortening I used butter also. Everyone loved it, wasn't too sweet just right. Love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2012
Absolutely delicious and moist. Reminded me of a really great coffee cake, but moister. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianne Price Rhoades

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ashland, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2012
Fantastic! Like others recommended, I used butter instead of shortening. The flour mixture was very dry going into the pan, but in the end it turned out quite nicely. Would definitely recommend and will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Medina, Texas, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2012
Delicious! The only thing I did differently was using frozen blueberries. I just thawed them and used them as directed. I forgot to add the egg, but it came out beautifully and tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dinner Date

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 517) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Blueberry Crumb Bars

See how to make simple, scrumptious blueberry bar cookies.

Blueberry Shortbread Bars

See how to make delicious fresh berry bars.

(Gluten Free) Magic Cookie Bars

Watch how to make these sweet gluten-free dessert bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States