Blueberry Crumb Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2014
Delicious! Used half butter,and shortening. These turned out wonderful and easy to prepare!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet Shum

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corbett, Oregon, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
The best ever. Did add add about 1 tsp. lemon zest. Family even took extras home. They said a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
The blueberries were good just too much dough. We ended up taking off the top crust and covering it in ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
I only changed one thing, and that was using butter instead of shortning. I will make these again, I'll even try different fruits like sour cherries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2014
I read many reviews before I made these bars. I used butter instead of shortening. At 45 minutes, the bars weren't brown. I baked another 10 min. The bottom did not crumble. You have to make sure you press the bottom layer down firmly. Also, make sure the top is a nice golden brown. That means the bottom is baked the way it should be. We love these bars. They are absolutely delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2014
I did not make any changes to recipe! Its a nice change instead of making cobbler. I like the fact that this is not overly sweet! It reminds me of pie! I will definitely make again! Cant wait to try it with peaches :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2014
Made as written, baked the bottom crust for 5 mins first, and added an extra tsp of cornstarch to blueberries. GREAT and EASY!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2014
I pretty much agree with all of my fellow cooks here when they say that using butter really makes a BIG difference! I made them first with shortening(I hate using shortening, but thought that if I didn't it might be one of those recipes where you shouldn't substitute). They were alright. The next time I used butter and they were quite tasty. I used fresh blueberries, but will use wild blueberries this summer. I think that the tartness of the wild berries would be quite nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by rhowgo
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2014
I made a batch of these for a BBQ this weekend, and they were a huge it! I made with gluten-free flour, and everyone still raved about them! Next time, I'll adjust the crumble ratio to 2/3 crust, 1/3 topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rhowgo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Larimore, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: May 29, 2014
Made this recipe and it was really good. I used half blueberries and half frozen cranberries and it came out GREAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 487) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Blueberry Shortbread Bars

See how to make delicious fresh berry bars.

Blackberry and Blueberry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart, two-berry pie from scratch.

Playgroup Granola Bars

Chewy, healthy homemade granola bars made with oats and raisins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States