Blueberry Crumb Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2015
Great starter recipe! Following the other reviews, I also subbed butter for the shortening. I also used sweet cherries in place of the blueberries, which worked well. To go with the cherries, I added a dash of clove to the dry ingredients and mixed in 1 teaspoon of almond extract with the egg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Neenah, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: South Lyon, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2015
I cut the sugar down and used blueberries, raspberries and strawberries. Also used earth balance 'butter' as I can eat dairy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2015
Basic ingredients make this an easy recipe and it is a bonus that is is sooooo delicious! I did use butter, because that's what I had. I used 2 cups blueberries and 2 cups strawberries. Fantastic!!! Great with a little whipped topping or vanilla ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal Cotton

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2015
We were so disappointed. Hardly any flavor. I followed the recipe as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2015
Correction: MY VERSION of this is 5 stars! This recipe, as is, I can't speak for, but I was appalled to see that there were no oats in the recipe, and I would starve before using (a whole cup of!!) shortening in a baked good. So here's mine: Sub the cup of white sugar with 1/2 c brown, 1/4 cup white. I really try to at least HALVE the sugar in any recipe I make. I was afraid to do that having never tried the original recipe, so kept it to 3/4 but I may reduce it the next time I make these. (I also left sugar out of the filling completely, but I like my fruit fillings tart rather than sweet.) In place of shortening (gross!!), 1/2 c butter and 1/2 cup of coconut oil (or any ratio you like - I use coconut oil where I can. Why wouldn't you? It's a most delicious and ultimately healthier fat, and the consistency is similar to shortening.) Baked goods require butter and, in my house, coconut oil. Replace the 3 cups of flour with 2 C flour and 1 1/2 C oats (It really turned out perfectly!) I added vanilla to the egg My filling consisted of a half and half of rasp- and blueberries. Raspberry is my favourite!! These turned out FABULOUSLY and received rave reviews. I just had one for breakfast! Thank you for the starting point to what turned out to be MY 5-star recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2015
If you love blueberries, you'll love this recipe. It uses a lot of blueberries, so make sure you make this recipe when they're in season. You need a fairly large amount of them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cooking Daddy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2015
I've used a recipe very close to this one for 35 years, it's pretty versatile.the only changes to my tried and true Cobbler are, 31/2 cups flour, I cup sugar, 1/4 tsp baking power, 1/4 tsp baking soda, 1/4 tsp salt, use 1/2 a lb of margarine or butter flavored Crisco or any other like substitute you prefer even butter. Mix until crumbly. Place 1/2 of mixture in a 15" by 11" or a 9 by 12" I use the 25" it serves more. You can make your oun filling or 2 cans of pie filling, 2 different flavor if preferred then sprinkle the remainder of your flour mixture over the top. I've found that I needed to bake this longer than 45 min, I just bake until nicely browned.easy , quick and delish !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Moosic, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2015
They were yummy! I used all whole wheat flour and so for a little extra sweetness before adding the blueberries I spread a layer of salted caramel hazelnut spread on the dough in the pan, then blueberry mixture as directed ...so perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2015
Very good and super easy to make! I added a little lemon rind to the blueberries. Better to use butter for this recipe and not shortening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sskemble

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2015
It was good with some vanilla ice cream, without the ice cream or was a little devoid of flavor. It was even better heated up with ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kaylee Perkins

Displaying results 1-10 (of 527) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Blueberry Crumb Bars

See how to make simple, scrumptious blueberry bar cookies.

Blueberry Shortbread Bars

See how to make delicious fresh berry bars.

(Gluten Free) Magic Cookie Bars

Watch how to make these sweet gluten-free dessert bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States