Blueberry Crumb Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2014
I made this with mulberries and it's delicious. Just make sure you drain the berries after thawing if you're using frozen berries, otherwise it will be too watery. I've made this 3 times already! It's quick and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
Great, easy dessert! Brought these to a family dinner and they were devoured. My dad asked for a double batch for his birthday! I followed the suggestions of some others - added 1 tsp of vanilla to the beaten egg, used butter instead of shortening, used half white sugar and half light brown, and I cooked the bottom crust for about 5 minutes to get it lightly browned. I used frozen blueberries and cooked them for 55 mins. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KevinBerry7406
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2014
This is a great recipe as long as you make a few distinct changes. First off, don't use shortening and use cold butter - this is essential. Next, add the zest of one lemon to the crumb mixture and add the juice of one lemon to the blueberry mixture. Do this and this recipe will turn out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KevinBerry7406

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2014
Very good. Also used blackberries and they were delicious. Really need to find my pastry cutter for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2014
I made this with butter in lieu of shortening, 1/2 brown sugar and 1/2 white sugar for the crust and crumbs, and frozen blueberries. It was perfect. I actually reduced the amount of sugar in the blueberry mix and it tasted just fine. I would venture to say that any type of berry would work well in these bars. Thanks for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2014
Delicious recipe. I followed the advice from other reviewers and used butter in place of the shortening, added some vanilla extract to the crust, and a bit of lemon zest to the blueberries, and then added a cup of frozen dark cherries to the 4c up blueberries. Thanks for sharing, it was a big hit with my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
Great recipe exactly as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amydoll

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Photo by nrgizrbune41
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
This recipe was changed slightly following some suggestions from other bakers. 1) Used 1/2 brown sugar & 1/2 white sugar for base. 2) used 1/2 butter & 1/2 vegetable shortening, in place of all shortening. Bars were terrific. 3) Beat egg & added 1 Tbsp. water & added to cut together dry ingredients. The only thing I did different, on my own, was taking the dough & pressing small bits of dough,thin to make an almost solid crust on top. Also added a very small thin lemon drizzle over top. I like blueberries & lemon together. Loved by all & finished by end of picnic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nrgizrbune41

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Western, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by michellecasey
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2014
I used butter instead of shorting. Delicious recipe definitely making this again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2014
LOVED this recipe! I will definitely be making it again! I used half butter and half crisco! Next time I will try using half white sugar and half brown! love the reviews! very Helpful! I made it with fresh blueberries. i will try making it with peach next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherri Winther

Displaying results 1-10 (of 502) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Blueberry Crumb Bars

See how to make simple, scrumptious blueberry bar cookies.

Blueberry Shortbread Bars

See how to make delicious fresh berry bars.

(Gluten Free) Magic Cookie Bars

Watch how to make these sweet gluten-free dessert bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States