Blueberry Crumb Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
Great recipe exactly as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amydoll

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Photo by nrgizrbune41
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
This recipe was changed slightly following some suggestions from other bakers. 1) Used 1/2 brown sugar & 1/2 white sugar for base. 2) used 1/2 butter & 1/2 vegetable shortening, in place of all shortening. Bars were terrific. 3) Beat egg & added 1 Tbsp. water & added to cut together dry ingredients. The only thing I did different, on my own, was taking the dough & pressing small bits of dough,thin to make an almost solid crust on top. Also added a very small thin lemon drizzle over top. I like blueberries & lemon together. Loved by all & finished by end of picnic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nrgizrbune41

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Western, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by michellecasey
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2014
I used butter instead of shorting. Delicious recipe definitely making this again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2014
LOVED this recipe! I will definitely be making it again! I used half butter and half crisco! Next time I will try using half white sugar and half brown! love the reviews! very Helpful! I made it with fresh blueberries. i will try making it with peach next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherri Winther
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2014
These are delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by porkchop
Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Natb
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
Came out perfect! I used both brown and white sugar, added some vanilla extract and used 2 eggs along with butter instead of shortening. Can't wait to have it with my coffee in the morning!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Rosa, California, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by richt304
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2014
Absolutely wonderful recipe! I used mixed frozen berries instead (strawberries, blueberries, blackberries, raspberries), and just thawed the berries before I baked it. Otherwise, I followed the recipe! It is great with vanilla ice cream on the side!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
Really good. I used butter - no question. I did not have light brown sugar, so I used 1/2 white & 1/2 turbinado. I also added vanilla & cinnamon. The turbinado added a kind of crunch to the dough which everyone raved over. I can't wait to try it with a mix of berries. It also wasn't overly sweet. A tasty addition to my recipe box! Already getting requests for it again! If you are looking for more sweet, try a sprinkle of powdered sugar on it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2014
Just made these for my co-workers today. They LOVED these cookies. One of them hates blueberries, and she loved these. Plus, the dessert looked and smelled so pretty. I made no changes to this recipe. I real keeper in my books.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2014
Delicious! Used half butter,and shortening. These turned out wonderful and easy to prepare!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet Shum

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corbett, Oregon, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 496) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Blueberry Crumb Bars

See how to make simple, scrumptious blueberry bar cookies.

Blueberry Shortbread Bars

See how to make delicious fresh berry bars.

Blackberry and Blueberry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart, two-berry pie from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States