Blueberry Crumb Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 20)
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2010
amazing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2010
These were a big hit at a 4th of July BBQ. I added raspberries to make the red and blue. Super easy to make. I don't think it was a mistake when the hostess didn't return the leftovers to me the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2010
What a fantastic recipe! Economical and easy. Best of all, the berry layer requires next to no prep. Yay! I highly recommend this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane442

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2010
These were great however I followed advice from other reviewers and I don't think I should have. I substituted half of white sugar for brown and it almost came out TOO crumbly. I LOVE crumble & "crisps" so that's why I did that but I think next time I will follow the recipe as stated. It overpowered the blueberries. GREAT RECIPE overall!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2010
These were great. I used 1/2 cup brown sugar and 1/2 cup white and added 1 teaspoon vanilla to the egg mixture. They were crumbly the first day and didn't stay together well, but the next day they were much less crumbly. Everyone enjoyed them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jenznc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iron Mountain, Michigan, USA
Living In: Holly Springs, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2010
These are soooooo good. We have made them a number of times with all sorts of different berries. They are wonderful with vanilla ice cream! We did sub the shorting with butter, but other than that, we follow it exactly as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2010
Excellent bars for a picnic. Not too sweet so if you are a sugar fanatic, you probably won't like it. I used all butter and even cheated by cutting 2 tablespoons out to lower the calories a bit. I also used 2 pints blueberries, 1 tsp. of vanilla, and some fresh lemon juice in the blueberry mixture. For the flour mix, I used 1-1/2 cups all purpose white and 1-1/2 cups white whole wheat for added nutrition. 1/2 cup white sugar and 1/2 cup brown sugar was just right for flavor. These are even better the next day so in the future, I'll make these a day ahead. You could easily add more blueberries to make this extra fruity and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Taco Cat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Photo by AZ
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2010
I loved these. I had blueberries and cherries on hand, so I mixed them together. I did follow another reviewer's suggestion to add a little vanilla and water to half the crust so that the bottom was a little more solid and less crumbly than the top. I will definitely make these again. Quick, easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AZ

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2010
These are "eat the whole pan" good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2010
Like other posters, I used 1/2 c white and 1/2 c brown sugar, and I used butter. I also replaced 1 cup of white flour with whole wheat flour to make these delicious bars. I made them for yesterday's July 4 picnic and ate a couple of the leftovers for breakfast this morning. They are not too sweet but very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 191-200 (of 487) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Blueberry Shortbread Bars

See how to make delicious fresh berry bars.

Blackberry and Blueberry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart, two-berry pie from scratch.

Playgroup Granola Bars

Chewy, healthy homemade granola bars made with oats and raisins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States