Blueberry Crumb Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 19)
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2010
Only change was that I used butter instead of shortening. I didn't care for the crumb topping at all...it was bland. I found the blueberry filling to be dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2010
Easy and taste great! I followed other reviews by using butter, half white sugar and half brown sugar, and also added an extra tsp of cornstarch to the blueberry mix. I melted half of my butter so it was easier to mix and by doing this, my mix wasn't dry but more like cookie dough. I used 4 cups of frozen blueberry and I think it's plenty. Definitely will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2010
I halved the recipe, and used half brown sugar and half white in the crust. I also used 1/2 whole wheat flour to make it a little healthier. Very tasty treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hartsellem

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lancaster, Ohio, USA
Living In: Pickerington, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2010
I made these for a card party last night, and they were delicious. Just make sure to cool them completely before cutting, or they will be a bit runny. Everyone loved them and asked for the recipe. Great use of blueberries. My husband gobbled them up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2010
I am not a fan of berry desserts, but my bf LOVES these. I made a half batch in an 8x8 pan, and had to make another the next day. These are easy to make, and I will be trying with rasberries. If you know someone who loves blueberries, give this a try, you will get raves. He ate them warm from oven with vanilla ice cream. These also freeze well...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2010
I made these for a BBQ and they were gobbled up quickly by kids and adults and they all said how delicious they were. Thank you for a great easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2010
I'm pretty sure I messed this up because I got a dough, not a crumble.. Which is fine for the base but I ended up making another crumble for the top without putting in any egg, which worked. Despite the disaster I had putting it together, it's pretty yummy! Next time I will add more fruit because there's not enough for me.. Although it must be good enough since I've eaten half of it and it hasn't even cooled yet lol!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2010
Quick, easy & delicious. I did follow suggestions and used 1/2 white, 1/2 brown sugar in the crust. And I replaced half of the shortning with unsalted butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2010
These are THE best blueberry bars I have made. Made them for a get together with some family and everyone loved them. I used butter as others suggested and replaced the cornstarch with tapioca.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lewiston, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2010
These were delicious! I too used part brown sugar and part white sugar. Added in a dash of vanilla extract and used butter instead of shortening. These were easy and everyone raved about the buttery flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Swainsboro, Georgia, USA

Displaying results 181-190 (of 488) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Blueberry Shortbread Bars

See how to make delicious fresh berry bars.

Blackberry and Blueberry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart, two-berry pie from scratch.

Playgroup Granola Bars

Chewy, healthy homemade granola bars made with oats and raisins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States