Blueberry Crumb Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 18)
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2011
I have to say I was disappointed in how these turned out . . . especially considering all of the glowing reviews! The base was too flour-y for me, and a bit on the bland side. The filling was good but the topping was too flour-y in taste as well. I think adding oats or something would break up the texture a bit? Not sure but I just didn't have the same great results that others did. May try again as it is a great idea for all the summer blueberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA
Living In: Clovis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2011
Subbed butter for shortening and they were delicious! I have also made these with strawberries and a little extra cornstarch too. Fantastic either way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2011
made with frozen strawberry slices, and they were fantastic. pretty forgiving recipe, too--you can do a lot of things to it and it turns out great. i did not use enough strawberries for my liking, next time i will do a generous two layers of slices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2011
easy to make, delicious. everyone loved them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2011
This recipe was AMAZING. It tastes just like my mothers blueberry buckle, but with more blueberry goodness. I followed other reviewers' suggestions and: (a) replaced 1c white sugar in crust with 1/2 c light brown sugar + 1/2 c white sugar. (b) added 1 tsp cinnamon to crust (instead of a pinch). (c) added the optional salt (d) added 1 tsp vanilla to the egg (e) added 1 tsp lemon juice to the sugar, cornstarch, and blueberry mixture (f) added one extra tsp cornstarch Definitely worth a try! I'm about to head out to buy more blueberries to make more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2011
Very easy to make and they tasted pretty good... i followed other reviewers advice and used half brown sugar in the crust and crumbles... turned out delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2011
This was one of the best desserts I've ever made! I served it at a dinner party, sort of like a cobbler. The cinnamon I think gives it a distinct taste. I also highly recommend that you serve this with vanilla ice cream to cut the sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mishukitty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2011
Lower carb version: I made a pan today using 1/2 c. sugar and 1/2 c. Splenda in the bar portion and it was very good. I did use sugar only with the fruit, but cut the amount down to 1/4 cup with success. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DianeTampa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2011
These were really easy to make and quite yummy :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Niroszyckame

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Slave Lake, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2011
This is my "GO TO" summer dessert in blueberry season! I have made it 6 times in the last 3 weeks and it goes over so well. I usually do the 1/2 cup white and the 1/2 cup LIGHT brown sugar (not dark, it does make a difference) and don't skip the cinnamon. I usually cook 40 minutes only, just until it is slightly browned on top. Great warm, cooled, dessert or breakfast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 171-180 (of 542) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Blueberry Crumb Bars

See how to make simple, scrumptious blueberry bar cookies.

Blueberry Shortbread Bars

See how to make delicious fresh berry bars.

(Gluten Free) Magic Cookie Bars

Watch how to make these sweet gluten-free dessert bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States