Blueberry Crumb Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 18)
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
I gave this a 3 because I think it has potential to be a great dessert recipe! HOWEVER, it needs WAY more sugar! Blueberries are FAR too tart a fruit to serve this way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meagan621

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tipton, Iowa, USA
Living In: Groton, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
I didn't get to use butter-I had to use shortening. I think it would have tasted better with the real thing, yet I still got so many compliments on this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Garland, Texas, USA
Living In: Pueblo, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
Just made this and it tastes pretty good. I substituted butter for the shortening and I only had frozen blueberries. I added a bit more cinnamon because our family loves cinnamon. I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
I made this today but used fresh cranberries since I didn't have any blueberries on hand. And butter instead of shortening. Also used 1/2 cup white sugar and 1/2 cup brown sugar for the crust. It was delish! Will certainly be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Weatherford, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
Unfortunately we found this to be very dry & bland. I think adding 1/2 cup and a full tsp. of cinnamon would help.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katie H

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newburyport, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
I prepared these as the recipe was written, and they were very good. The only problem I had was that they were not as sweet as I would have liked. I will definitely make them again, but I'll be adding a bit more sugar next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JenniJ3333

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
These were pretty good, I added a little some quick oats to the topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2010
I made this yesterday because I was jonesin for something blueberry! I cut the recipe in half but otherwise followed the recipe as written. I agree with other reviewers that the taste is not overly sweet. I liked how these came out, but I think I would make a couple changes for next time. I think I will add brown sugar and some vanilla/almond extract in with the dough. Thanks for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SummerDavis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oak Forest, Illinois, USA
Living In: Frankfort, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2010
Add some Cool Whip on top and OMG!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2010
This was a recipe I've been excited to make but I made it as stated and it was not very good.. that's a 9x13 pan of not very good dessert.. such a bummer! So, if I make this again (and we'll see).. I'd use butter for a shortbread effect and add vanilla. Without those two this is just not very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookingInSeattle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 171-180 (of 502) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Blueberry Crumb Bars

See how to make simple, scrumptious blueberry bar cookies.

Blueberry Shortbread Bars

See how to make delicious fresh berry bars.

Blackberry and Blueberry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart, two-berry pie from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States