Blueberry Crumb Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2015
I was a little worried on how tart the bars would be because of how many blueberries the recipe called for but that wasn't a problem at all! I substituted the shortening with butter as well as the 1 C. White sugar with 1/2 dark brown and 1/2 white. I made a 9x13 inch pan batch and it was gone in less than 24 hours! Definitely recommend & will be saving this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2015
Wow! This was great! I followed others' advice and used 1/2 cup white and 1/2 cup light brown sugar along with salted butter and 1 teaspoon cinnamon for the crust. I mixed up half the dough in the food processor, which gave it a cookie dough consistency -perfect for spreading in the bottom of the pan for the crust. I used an extra cup of frozen berries, although next time I think I'd double the berries. I still used only 1/2 cup white sugar for the berries, but doubled the cornstarch to 2 Tablespoons. The crumb topping I assembled by cutting the butter in with a pastry harp. A definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by greenthumb

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
Jack and I liked these very much. Since it was just the two of us, I halved all the ingredients and used my 8x8 inch pan...I even used only half an egg (although I don't know that was necessary). Baking time was about 40 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
Delicious and SO easy to make! I make these all the time, use different types of berries, apple cinnamon were good too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2015
I have made this recipe many times and the neighbors have even asked me to make it for them however most of the time i dbl the blueberries and make it into a dish to top with whip crm or ice crm both ways are very popular
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2014
I made this with mulberries and it's delicious. Just make sure you drain the berries after thawing if you're using frozen berries, otherwise it will be too watery. I've made this 3 times already! It's quick and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
Great, easy dessert! Brought these to a family dinner and they were devoured. My dad asked for a double batch for his birthday! I followed the suggestions of some others - added 1 tsp of vanilla to the beaten egg, used butter instead of shortening, used half white sugar and half light brown, and I cooked the bottom crust for about 5 minutes to get it lightly browned. I used frozen blueberries and cooked them for 55 mins. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KevinBerry7406
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2014
This is a great recipe as long as you make a few distinct changes. First off, don't use shortening and use cold butter - this is essential. Next, add the zest of one lemon to the crumb mixture and add the juice of one lemon to the blueberry mixture. Do this and this recipe will turn out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KevinBerry7406

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2014
Very good. Also used blackberries and they were delicious. Really need to find my pastry cutter for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2014
I made this with butter in lieu of shortening, 1/2 brown sugar and 1/2 white sugar for the crust and crumbs, and frozen blueberries. It was perfect. I actually reduced the amount of sugar in the blueberry mix and it tasted just fine. I would venture to say that any type of berry would work well in these bars. Thanks for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 507) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Blueberry Crumb Bars

See how to make simple, scrumptious blueberry bar cookies.

Blueberry Shortbread Bars

See how to make delicious fresh berry bars.

(Gluten Free) Magic Cookie Bars

Watch how to make these sweet gluten-free dessert bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States