Blueberry Crisp I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2003
If you can't find self rising flour, just add 1 tsp. each of baking soda and powder. We forgot and added 1/2 to the sugar and the balance in the water. It worked!! Absolutely delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2002
I made this recipe using saskatoon berries, which are very similar to blueberries but now quite as soft. It turned out excellent, and my dinner guests all raved about it. I served it warm with frozen yogurt or vanilla icecream. I would like to try it again with another type of fruit. I especially appreciated that it is mad in a 9" pan. There are only three in our family and I don't like to have lots of leftover dessert. This was a perfect size for a dinner party for 6. I will definitely keep and use this recipe over and over again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: La Crosse, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2004
After reading the other reviews, I decided to make this dessert with the following changes to the topping: 1/4 cup (instead of 3/4 cup) white sugar, 1/2 Tbs cornstarch, 1/8 tsp cinnamon (instead of nutmeg). I also reduced the amount of boiling water to slightly over 1/2 cup (instead of 1 cup). The result was perfect!! Not too sweet and not too soggy. I'll be making this again tomorrow :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
151 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2002
This was so easy and delicious, I took it to Fourth of July dinner and everyone loved it. I was asked to bring it to the family reunion. Betty L.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2002
This recipie works great! It's versitility is a must, and it tastes delicious! I baked it when family was visiting, and you needed something that'd work for everyone - this did the trick!!!! I'm so glad for allrecipies.com because its a quick, easy, and convinient way of finding great entrees, desserts, and snacks in all different varieties! - Thanks!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2002
Everyone loved this! I used raspberries and mmmmm wonderful! Careful for kids with the boiling water, but mmmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2002
Totally easy-totally yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2002
Easy to prepare an was very good !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2003
Gluten-Free version for those who cannot tolerate gluten.... I love this recipe! I am a celiac so I had to substitute 2/3 cup white rice flour and 1/3 cup potato starch flour for the 1 cup of self-rising flour in the recipe. No problem. It is delious. We have prepared this crisp several times with a variety of fruit. It is wonderful to be able to have dessert with the rest of the family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2005
If you add the amount of hot water and topping sugar called for, the result is a wonderful moist filling with a sugar-crisp crust (like those high-priced store-bought cinammon/sugar bagels from you-know-where). I used cinnamon instead of nutmeg, and about 1/2 tsp. Only change I'll make next time is to add more fruit. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Blackberry and Blueberry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart, two-berry pie from scratch.

Chef John's Blueberry Clafoutis

See how to make a super quick-and-easy fruit dessert.

Peach Crisp III

Granola and oats combine with fresh peaches in this 5-star dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States