Blueberry Crisp I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2004
After reading the other reviews, I decided to make this dessert with the following changes to the topping: 1/4 cup (instead of 3/4 cup) white sugar, 1/2 Tbs cornstarch, 1/8 tsp cinnamon (instead of nutmeg). I also reduced the amount of boiling water to slightly over 1/2 cup (instead of 1 cup). The result was perfect!! Not too sweet and not too soggy. I'll be making this again tomorrow :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
153 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2003
If you can't find self rising flour, just add 1 tsp. each of baking soda and powder. We forgot and added 1/2 to the sugar and the balance in the water. It worked!! Absolutely delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2002
Reading the other reviews before making the crisp I decided to turn up the heat to 365 and use cinnamon instead of nutmeg. It turned out pretty good, a little crisp and a littly cake like. Next time I will try reducing the amount of milk. The batter seemed crumblier without it and it might be crisper that way. Less sugar too, it was a little too sweet for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2003
Very good and easy to make! It took less than 5 minutes to prepare. It called for WAY too much water, however. If I made it again I would also add more blueberries, although that's just my personal taste, and it isn't really necessary. I'll definitely be making this again. I also used cinnamon instead of nutmeg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2002
Recipe was OK. Topping was to soft and mushy for my taste. I like my crisp a little crispier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2002
Unfortunately we didn't care for this because it was easy to make. It wasn't crisp, but was cake-like on top. I won't make it again but would suggest cinnamon instead of nutmeg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2002
I made this recipe using saskatoon berries, which are very similar to blueberries but now quite as soft. It turned out excellent, and my dinner guests all raved about it. I served it warm with frozen yogurt or vanilla icecream. I would like to try it again with another type of fruit. I especially appreciated that it is mad in a 9" pan. There are only three in our family and I don't like to have lots of leftover dessert. This was a perfect size for a dinner party for 6. I will definitely keep and use this recipe over and over again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: La Crosse, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2002
Tasted great, it reminded me more of a cobbler. Not as crispy as I expected but the flavors blended well together. Added a bit of cinnamon and brown sugar to the topping and served warm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2002
I followed the instructions and baked it for 65 minutes but certainly did not get the "beautiful crust on top." The flavor of the batter was great but it was soft and "mushy" and I was disappointed about not having a crust. If someone, perhaps Patricia E. Gordy, the submitter could tell me the secret for getting a crusty top, I would try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Peoria, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2002
THIS WAS A VERY EASY DESSERT TO PREPARE. I EVEN MESSED UP THE CORNSTARCH, SUGAR, AND BOILING WATER PART OF IT AND IT CAME OUT JUST FINE. VERY TASTY~I DOUBLED IT SO I MADE IT IN A 9X13. IT'S GREAT WITH COOL WHIP OR PLAIN! BY THE WAY, IT'S MORE LIKE A COBBLER RATHER THEN A CRISP :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Blueberry Clafoutis

See how to make a super quick-and-easy fruit dessert.

Peach Crisp III

Granola and oats combine with fresh peaches in this 5-star dessert.

Blackberry and Blueberry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart, two-berry pie from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States