Blueberry Crisp I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2004
More like a cobbler recipe. I reduced the amount of sugar to 1/2 cups (total of 1 cup) each, yet it was still too sweet. I also added one more cup of blueberries. Great with ice cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2004
After reading the other reviews, I decided to make this dessert with the following changes to the topping: 1/4 cup (instead of 3/4 cup) white sugar, 1/2 Tbs cornstarch, 1/8 tsp cinnamon (instead of nutmeg). I also reduced the amount of boiling water to slightly over 1/2 cup (instead of 1 cup). The result was perfect!! Not too sweet and not too soggy. I'll be making this again tomorrow :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
153 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2003
this is truly easy to make and very delicious. i put 1 cup of pears and 1 cup of blueberries and cut the amount of sugar by half. i agree that there was too much water called for but it does make a delicious sauce. i'm not sure if this was supposed to be like a cobbler since it wasn't crispy, but i will definitely make it again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by poorgradstudent

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2003
Gluten-Free version for those who cannot tolerate gluten.... I love this recipe! I am a celiac so I had to substitute 2/3 cup white rice flour and 1/3 cup potato starch flour for the 1 cup of self-rising flour in the recipe. No problem. It is delious. We have prepared this crisp several times with a variety of fruit. It is wonderful to be able to have dessert with the rest of the family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2003
If you can't find self rising flour, just add 1 tsp. each of baking soda and powder. We forgot and added 1/2 to the sugar and the balance in the water. It worked!! Absolutely delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2003
Very good and easy to make! It took less than 5 minutes to prepare. It called for WAY too much water, however. If I made it again I would also add more blueberries, although that's just my personal taste, and it isn't really necessary. I'll definitely be making this again. I also used cinnamon instead of nutmeg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2003
Gosh, it's just not a "crisp", at least not what I've come to know as a fruit crisp. I'll stick with our usual topping recipe of oatmeal, nuts, flour, brown sugar, & butter etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Wahoo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bellingham, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2002
Recipe is OK, but has cake rather than crisp on top. I agree, use cinnamon rather than nutmeg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2002
Easy to prepare an was very good !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2002
Reading the other reviews before making the crisp I decided to turn up the heat to 365 and use cinnamon instead of nutmeg. It turned out pretty good, a little crisp and a littly cake like. Next time I will try reducing the amount of milk. The batter seemed crumblier without it and it might be crisper that way. Less sugar too, it was a little too sweet for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Blueberry Clafoutis

See how to make a super quick-and-easy fruit dessert.

Peach Crisp III

Granola and oats combine with fresh peaches in this 5-star dessert.

Blackberry and Blueberry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart, two-berry pie from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States