Blueberry Crisp I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2004
After reading the other reviews, I decided to make this dessert with the following changes to the topping: 1/4 cup (instead of 3/4 cup) white sugar, 1/2 Tbs cornstarch, 1/8 tsp cinnamon (instead of nutmeg). I also reduced the amount of boiling water to slightly over 1/2 cup (instead of 1 cup). The result was perfect!! Not too sweet and not too soggy. I'll be making this again tomorrow :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
153 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2003
this is truly easy to make and very delicious. i put 1 cup of pears and 1 cup of blueberries and cut the amount of sugar by half. i agree that there was too much water called for but it does make a delicious sauce. i'm not sure if this was supposed to be like a cobbler since it wasn't crispy, but i will definitely make it again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by poorgradstudent

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2003
Gluten-Free version for those who cannot tolerate gluten.... I love this recipe! I am a celiac so I had to substitute 2/3 cup white rice flour and 1/3 cup potato starch flour for the 1 cup of self-rising flour in the recipe. No problem. It is delious. We have prepared this crisp several times with a variety of fruit. It is wonderful to be able to have dessert with the rest of the family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2003
If you can't find self rising flour, just add 1 tsp. each of baking soda and powder. We forgot and added 1/2 to the sugar and the balance in the water. It worked!! Absolutely delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2003
Very good and easy to make! It took less than 5 minutes to prepare. It called for WAY too much water, however. If I made it again I would also add more blueberries, although that's just my personal taste, and it isn't really necessary. I'll definitely be making this again. I also used cinnamon instead of nutmeg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2003
Gosh, it's just not a "crisp", at least not what I've come to know as a fruit crisp. I'll stick with our usual topping recipe of oatmeal, nuts, flour, brown sugar, & butter etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Wahoo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bellingham, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2002
Recipe is OK, but has cake rather than crisp on top. I agree, use cinnamon rather than nutmeg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2002
Easy to prepare an was very good !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2002
Reading the other reviews before making the crisp I decided to turn up the heat to 365 and use cinnamon instead of nutmeg. It turned out pretty good, a little crisp and a littly cake like. Next time I will try reducing the amount of milk. The batter seemed crumblier without it and it might be crisper that way. Less sugar too, it was a little too sweet for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2002
Recipe was OK. Topping was to soft and mushy for my taste. I like my crisp a little crispier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Blackberry and Blueberry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart, two-berry pie from scratch.

Chef John's Blueberry Clafoutis

See how to make a super quick-and-easy fruit dessert.

Peach Crisp III

Granola and oats combine with fresh peaches in this 5-star dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States