Blueberry Crisp I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
I modified as follows: 1/2 c sugar for crust and topping, added 1 tsp baking powder and soda to regular flour, 1/4 tsp cinnamon instead of nutmeg, just over 1/2 c boiling water - just enough to cover crust so everything melted. Delicious and easy, not too sweet! Doesn't need ice-cream or anything with it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2010
I give this 5 stars as a cobbler recipe, not as a crisp recipe. The only changes I made was that I used cinnamon instead of nutmeg, and left out the additional sugar in the berries. It was so yummy! I made this in individual ramekins and served it with vanilla ice cream. Its definitely a keeper. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by astacy12

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Indiana, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2010
We love this recipe! It's easy to prepare and the crisp (which is more like cake), isn't soggy and has a bit of crunch on the top. It is sweet, so we add a little less sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2010
i tried this recipe twice and both times it came out really really good. I probably won't use any other recipe but this one because it's so easy and it goes well w/other fruits. It's more like a cobbler tho but it is very tastey and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by goldina's recipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2010
Very sweet... I did get a pretty nice crust, but it's more of a cobbler. I cut the sugar down as others had suggested, but it was still way sweet... less than 1/2 cup brown sugar should be good for the topping and no more than that for the batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NannyTrel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saluda, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2010
This was pretty good with modifications ie) 1/4 cup brown sugar and cinnamon for topping; 1/2 cup boiling water; Takes a long time to cook so not sure I would make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hilary

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2010
I made this for my roommate's birthday. And we absolutely loved it. The topping is sweet enough to balance out early season blueberries that are tart. We will be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
A+ according to my husband! So good and so easy! It is definitely more like a cake instead of a crisp. I reduced the sure to 1/2 cup in the batter and 1/2 cup brown sugar in the topping. I added a pinch of salt and used cinnamon instead of nutmeg. I also reduced the water to 1/2 cup based on the other reviews and it was perfect! By reducing the sugar, using reduced fat margarine, and soy milk...it's a much less guilty pleasure! I will be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
My husbands favorite fruit. Also very good for health. Love the easy recipes on this site as Im allways telling my daughter-in-law who is just starting out,go to Allrecipes.com.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2009
Very easy recipe, but VERY sweet! I definitely would cut the sugar in half. There were a few changes I made because I saw a lot of people ended up with a mushy crust instead of crispy. I used Crisco instead of butter because I knew this would make a crispy crust. Since I didn't use butter, I added about 2 teaspoons of vanilla to add better flavor. I didn't have fresh blueberries, so I used frozen wild blueberries. I also used cinnamon instead of nutmeg. Because I used frozen blueberries, I only used 1/2 cup water. For the extra sugar topping, I added 1 1/2 tablespoons cornstarch...I probably would add more next time, especially if I used the frozen blueberries. This way it would set up a bit more and be easier to spoon out. Again...USE 1/2 the SUGAR IT CALLS FOR...WAY TOO SWEET! Overall, very nice flavors in this recipe. I definitely will use it again! The top came out crunchy and still had a bit of a cobbler-style inside - which I love.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Blueberry Clafoutis

See how to make a super quick-and-easy fruit dessert.

Peach Crisp III

Granola and oats combine with fresh peaches in this 5-star dessert.

Blackberry and Blueberry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart, two-berry pie from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States