Blueberry Crisp I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2007
This was SO GOOD! I used a bag of thawed frozen blueberries and threw it together in 10 minutes before I had friends over...big hit! Just don't forget the vanilla ice cream
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2007
I followed the recommedations of 2 reviews and used the baking powder and baking soda for the all-purpose flour. Also 1/2 cup sugar instead of 3/4 cups and just 1/2 cup boiling water. It is delicious. Everyone loved it. It is the best crisp I've ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lockport, New York, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cookinme
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2006
First I agree with other reviewers that this is more of a cobbler than a crisp. Which was fine because that is what I wanted. I used fresh Wild Maine Blueberries, about 3 cups. I used butter instead of margarine, half whole wheat and half AP flour (added 1/2 tsp baking powder and 1/4 tsp salt.) I cut back to 1/2 C sugar for each 3/4 C. Next time I will cut back a little more. It was quite sweet. And I will cut back a little on the water also. Very tasty, we enjoyed it very much! Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookinme

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Washington, Maine, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2006
This was outstanding. Served it for a family desert and everyone - 3yr old and 20 month old LOVED it. I used 2 cups fresh blueberries and 1 cup thawed-frozen raspberries. Used butter instead of the margarine. Cut the water to 3/4 cup and used about 1/2 sugar each time. Also used cinnamon instead of the nutmeg. My husband dished out the serving and he flipped it over so the crust was on the bottom and the berry filling was on the top. Topped it with some cool whip and it was awesome! Will use this recipe many many times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elk River, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Sartell, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2006
The first time I made this, we had people over for dinner and I had blueberries-chose this recipe for the simplicity. I used butter instead of margarine, but left everything else the same. Everyone loved it. I make whipped cream and that topped it. I loved the crisp topping and moist cake. I've also tweaked the recipe and using 1/2 cup sugar for the cake seems to work better since its not as sweet, but no one is the wiser..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2006
It was good, but very very sweet. Will use less sugar next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ATLMICHELLE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Southington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2006
I made this the other day with some fresh picked Alabama blueberries and it turned out great. I didn't have any nutmeg only - so I used pumpkin pie spice instead. Also I used almost 3 cups of berries instead of two. The crust turned out as described. I would describe it as nice and crispy on top; yet it was softer on the inside. The secret to a good topping is butter instead of margarine (for those that cook with margarine). I am definitely going to make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sniper69

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2006
Very delicious - made this for a last-minute potluck tonight and everyone loved it! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Noah's Daddy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yonkers, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2005
Came out a little too mushy for my liking. Not my kind of recipe. But my husband did like it, but he said "it's nothing special", would NOT make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2005
If you add the amount of hot water and topping sugar called for, the result is a wonderful moist filling with a sugar-crisp crust (like those high-priced store-bought cinammon/sugar bagels from you-know-where). I used cinnamon instead of nutmeg, and about 1/2 tsp. Only change I'll make next time is to add more fruit. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Chef John's Blueberry Clafoutis

See how to make a super quick-and-easy fruit dessert.

Peach Crisp III

Granola and oats combine with fresh peaches in this 5-star dessert.

Blackberry and Blueberry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart, two-berry pie from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States