Blueberry Cream Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2002
This recipe is excellent. I will make it over and over!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2009
This was so good, my family said it was the best they had ever eaten. I used heavy whipping cream as a substitute for milk, and it worked very well. Will be making this many more times!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2008
Thank you so much for sharing your recipe! What a fabulous pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2002
This is a great recipe, I received rave reviews for this pie. Loved how it all separated into 3 different layers. Will Make this Again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2002
This is an EXCELLENT old-fashioned recipe. I can understand why this got a few bad reviews-it's a tad complicated to put together the first time around. Here's my 2cents worth to make this pie a little easier to make: When I beat the yolks and sugar together, I could not get all the sugar to dissolve. To remedy this, I added my lemon juice next (and, in fact, I used the juice of ½ lemon) and beat this nice and smooth. Instead of tapioca, I added 3 tablespoons of flour to this mixture. (I prefer flour to tapioca as a thickener in my pie: either will do nicely) Then add the salt, stir in the milk,and then the blueberries.In a separate bowl, beat your egg whites nice and stiff, and gently fold into the blueberry mixture.Sprinkle the flour and sugar into the pie shell as the recipe suggests,and pour in the filling.I found the top of the pie turned golden very quickly;I tented tinfoil over the top to slow this down for the rest of the baking time.BE SURE to tent it ‘high',this pie rises like a souffle during baking, (then sinks as it cools) and if the top touches the foil,you will lose your meringue-like crust! I also covered my crust edge in foil to prevent browning.The end result is a mouth-watering, seconds-please blueberry pie unlike any other.There is a thin ‘custard' like bottom, a creamy blueberry middle, and a thin meringue crust.You will NOT be disappointed with this one-THANK YOU,Barbara, for sharing this family treasure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
103 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2009
Takes time to get it all right but well worth the work!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2002
This is probably the best tasting blueberry pie we have ever had and I will definitely make it again. However, it doesn't look very appetizing because the meringue gets dark even though I tented it with foil midway through the baking. Also, I was unable to get the sugar to dissolve with the egg yolks - there just wasn't enough liquid. I beat this for 20 minutes with no success. I had to add drops of water. I'm wondering if some ingredient is missing here!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2003
Yummy! My husband said it was the best blueberry pie he'd ever eaten. Don't expect "meringue" it is more of a thin meringue-like layer. Also the "layers" aren't that thick which is where some of the confusion is coming from. But the blueberries and "cream" do kinda separate. I used frozen berries. Can't wait to try it with fresh!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BONNIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austintown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lake Milton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2009
This pie took sometime to prepare, but worth every minute of it. I've made many pies over the years, but I have to say as far as blueberry pies go this turned far better than any I've made. My husband, son & I love it. Our next door neighbors let us pick their blueberries because they didn't want them. I made two pies and gave them one of them. They loved it also. Will use this recipe a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2008
What a great recipe - even tastier with a teaspoon or so of finely grated lemon zest added along with the lemon juice! I've made a 9-inch deepdish pie version of it several times now, using just a pint of blueberries, as suggested, and making no other changes in the recipe other than adding lemon zest. I'm not sure my sugar completely dissolved in mixing, even after 15 minutes of beating plus beating with lemon juice, but it didn't affect the outcome. I've been careful to see that my blueberries are completely dry before using them, since the problems some have had with the recipe sound like there was too much liquid, and the pie has been perfectly wonderful, every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Blackberry and Blueberry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart, two-berry pie from scratch.

Creamy Blueberry Pie

See how to make a simple custardy blueberry pie that's not too sweet.

Blueberry Pie

Make a delicious fresh blueberry pie, complete with lattice crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States