Blueberry Cream Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2002
This is an EXCELLENT old-fashioned recipe. I can understand why this got a few bad reviews-it's a tad complicated to put together the first time around. Here's my 2cents worth to make this pie a little easier to make: When I beat the yolks and sugar together, I could not get all the sugar to dissolve. To remedy this, I added my lemon juice next (and, in fact, I used the juice of ½ lemon) and beat this nice and smooth. Instead of tapioca, I added 3 tablespoons of flour to this mixture. (I prefer flour to tapioca as a thickener in my pie: either will do nicely) Then add the salt, stir in the milk,and then the blueberries.In a separate bowl, beat your egg whites nice and stiff, and gently fold into the blueberry mixture.Sprinkle the flour and sugar into the pie shell as the recipe suggests,and pour in the filling.I found the top of the pie turned golden very quickly;I tented tinfoil over the top to slow this down for the rest of the baking time.BE SURE to tent it ‘high',this pie rises like a souffle during baking, (then sinks as it cools) and if the top touches the foil,you will lose your meringue-like crust! I also covered my crust edge in foil to prevent browning.The end result is a mouth-watering, seconds-please blueberry pie unlike any other.There is a thin ‘custard' like bottom, a creamy blueberry middle, and a thin meringue crust.You will NOT be disappointed with this one-THANK YOU,Barbara, for sharing this family treasure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
103 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2003
Yummy! My husband said it was the best blueberry pie he'd ever eaten. Don't expect "meringue" it is more of a thin meringue-like layer. Also the "layers" aren't that thick which is where some of the confusion is coming from. But the blueberries and "cream" do kinda separate. I used frozen berries. Can't wait to try it with fresh!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BONNIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austintown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lake Milton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2004
I made this pie twice - the first time I did it while I was on vacation at a friend's house. He did not have a stand alone mixer, so I incorporated the eggs and sugar with a hand mixer and stopped after 6 minutes. Also, I was using a prepared pie shell, which made a big difference (I used a 9" shell). The pie was good, but I could see the potential!! When I came home I started all over again - this time with my stand alone mixer. I beat the yolks a full 15 minutes, and incorporated the sugar over 10 of those minutes. This step made the big difference. Also, I cut back to 1 pt of blueberries. Those two changes and the pie was superb!! Give it a chance - you won't regret.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2002
This is a great recipe, I received rave reviews for this pie. Loved how it all separated into 3 different layers. Will Make this Again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2002
This pie did not come out well at all. There was hardly any custard in it, and although it looked good when it came out of the oven, as it cooled it went flat! It tasted ok, but not a keeper for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2002
This is probably the best tasting blueberry pie we have ever had and I will definitely make it again. However, it doesn't look very appetizing because the meringue gets dark even though I tented it with foil midway through the baking. Also, I was unable to get the sugar to dissolve with the egg yolks - there just wasn't enough liquid. I beat this for 20 minutes with no success. I had to add drops of water. I'm wondering if some ingredient is missing here!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2008
Thank you so much for sharing your recipe! What a fabulous pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2002
I followed the recipe and it did not turn out with a custard. There was a little bit of meringue on top. I don't know what I did wrong. It sounded so good but, it turned out more like a cobbler.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2009
I never did get the sugar to dissolve completely into the egg. I tried FOREVER! But it didn't matter because it turned out great. It didn't have the distinct layers as I guess its supposed to, but it did have a thin crunchy coating of meringue on top. Whatever - we LOVED it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
More work than it's worth. I picked it because it looked like a challenging, delicious pie. I was disappointed however with how it tasted. Not what I was expecting. Won't be one I try again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrew

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eau Claire, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Blackberry and Blueberry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart, two-berry pie from scratch.

Creamy Blueberry Pie

See how to make a simple custardy blueberry pie that's not too sweet.

Blueberry Pie

Make a delicious fresh blueberry pie, complete with lattice crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States