Blueberry Cream Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
I really don't know what happened with this recipe. I am a pretty good baker but this pie did not turn out well. I followed the recipe to the letter. But the meringue started burning before the time was up. I let it cook as long as I could before it burned. The blueberries were yummy inside, but it was not a firm pie at all. All I seemed to get was blueberries in a crust with meringue and some very runny cream. The blueberries cost me a small fortune for it to have turned out so mediocre. The only reason it is mediocre was because the blueberries were sweet and tasted nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tina

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calhoun, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2008
Thank you so much for sharing your recipe! What a fabulous pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2008
What a great recipe - even tastier with a teaspoon or so of finely grated lemon zest added along with the lemon juice! I've made a 9-inch deepdish pie version of it several times now, using just a pint of blueberries, as suggested, and making no other changes in the recipe other than adding lemon zest. I'm not sure my sugar completely dissolved in mixing, even after 15 minutes of beating plus beating with lemon juice, but it didn't affect the outcome. I've been careful to see that my blueberries are completely dry before using them, since the problems some have had with the recipe sound like there was too much liquid, and the pie has been perfectly wonderful, every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2007
Not for the amateur, evidently. Ended up without the mentioned layers (merengue above custard). Just ended up with a foamy, blueberry pie. Interesting outcome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2006
This makes a great and easy pie. My children and I enjoyed making it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennel Erickson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2004
I made this pie twice - the first time I did it while I was on vacation at a friend's house. He did not have a stand alone mixer, so I incorporated the eggs and sugar with a hand mixer and stopped after 6 minutes. Also, I was using a prepared pie shell, which made a big difference (I used a 9" shell). The pie was good, but I could see the potential!! When I came home I started all over again - this time with my stand alone mixer. I beat the yolks a full 15 minutes, and incorporated the sugar over 10 of those minutes. This step made the big difference. Also, I cut back to 1 pt of blueberries. Those two changes and the pie was superb!! Give it a chance - you won't regret.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2004
Well...I made this recipe again and used 1 tbs. and a 1/2 of instant tapioca. It turned out great! It did take about twice the time to cook. I would reccomend increasing the oven temp a tad and definately place foil over the pie!! Mine was still burnt (not too bad though) around the edges...but it was still good. It didn't seperate really either. Althoug, my husband loved it. I found him in the refrigerator numerous times sneaking forkfuls of it until it was all gone. I think I would rather have made a regular blueberry pie. I was trying to save money by making this recipe because you need like 4-5 cups of fresh blueberry's for a pie. It was good. I don't know if I'll make it again though. Merangue isn't my thing anyway. It's hard to get it just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2004
This is a very good blueberry pie recipe. It was a little hard blending the egg yolks and sugar, especially with just a hand electric mixer, but well worth the work. I will bake this pie again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clinton, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2003
I'm not sure if it was me or the recipe, but this did not turn out. There were no layers except for a thin burnt meringue topping and what happened to the custard? There was none. I even took it out of the oven early because it was starting to burn. I was so disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2003
Yummy! My husband said it was the best blueberry pie he'd ever eaten. Don't expect "meringue" it is more of a thin meringue-like layer. Also the "layers" aren't that thick which is where some of the confusion is coming from. But the blueberries and "cream" do kinda separate. I used frozen berries. Can't wait to try it with fresh!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BONNIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austintown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lake Milton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Blackberry and Blueberry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart, two-berry pie from scratch.

Creamy Blueberry Pie

See how to make a simple custardy blueberry pie that's not too sweet.

Blueberry Pie

Make a delicious fresh blueberry pie, complete with lattice crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States