Blueberry Cream Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2015
This recipe was great, but like the others said, 1 cup of sour cream is perfect. I tried 3 cups of blueberries and while I love blueberries, it made my muffins soggy. Sadly, my family wasn't crazy about them, because of all the blueberries. Also, mine needed another 5 minutes to bake, because the middles were not done. I experimented and noticed that if I baked them in the back of the oven, they got a nicer brown tone and looked like they rose higher, even with the extra 5 minutes. I think baking powder would get better, higher rising results than baking soda.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2015
I too tried to make this a bit healthier. Used applesauce instead of oil, Greek yogurt instead of sour cream and substituted out 2 cups flour for one cup flax seed meal and one cup oat flour. Kept everything else the same. They came out great. Very filling, moist and tasty. Whole family loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Katileena
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
I made this recipe exactly as listed but just halfed it. These turned out perfect and delicious. Baked for 22 minutes. Half recipe made 15 large standard muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katileena

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jody
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2015
I was craving some fresh-baked blueberry muffins on this snowy Saturday morning. I had the fresh blueberries, but I needed to make some emergency substitutions because I didn't feel like cleaning off the car. I also halved the recipe. I was out of vegetable oil, so I used coconut oil. No sour cream, so I used plain yogurt that was already open (strained through a coffee filter to remove some of the liquid for about 15 minutes). I was still short 1/3 cup, so I topped it up with mayonnaise. They tasted great! I can imagine they would be divine with the actual ingredients. Now I have to clean off the car and go grocery shopping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jody

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Trenton, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2015
I am very glad I read reviews and chose to add an extra 1/2 cup of sugar. The muffins were perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Qzen
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2015
Halved the recipe to make just a dozen, no changes and they came out perfectly. Golden, light, tender, lots of berries and not too sweet. YUM! An easy recipe to make, definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2015
I used half sugar and half Splenda and added more blueberries just because I like extra blueberries. This recipe is great just the way it is however. I also made three pans of the mini muffins and then had enough leftover to pour the rest in a bundt pan and make a blueberry cake. Otherwise it would have been way too many muffins for just the two of us. If your blueberries aren't very sweet, you will probably want to add a little extra sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by vylam2012
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2015
Absolutely yummy! I used hand mixer to whipped the egg, sugar and butter to create a fluffy batter. Since I love blueberries, I add 1 cup of blueberries instead of 1/2 cup. I sprinkled cane sugar ( you can use regular sugar or mix brown and white sugar) to create crunchy top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Roxie
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2015
These are in the oven now, I used half white and half brown sugar also put all the wet ingredients in with the egg mixture. I did a 3/4 cup oatmeal and 1/4 cup flour 6 tbsp cold butter 2 tsp cinnamon for the topping. I also used the juice of half a lemon and the lemon zest from the whole lemon-we love blueberry lemon can't wait to try one! Still too hot but looks amazing-OMG so yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
These are the best blueberry muffins and perfect for school snacks. They take a bit longer to make, but are totally worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,097) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

See how to make big bakery-style blueberry muffins!

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Low-Fat Blueberry Bran Muffins

These muffins are so moist and flavorful, you won't believe they're healthy, too!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States