Blueberry Cream Cheese Pound Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2009
ok i tweaked it..but this is a fantastic recipe..changes i made...used DH butter recipe cake mix-3eggs and 1stick butter, 1/4 cup oil...seperately mixed c/cheese sugar and 1 egg..used frozen blueberries. one layer of mix in pan and then dolloped creamcheese in added rest of batter..baked 50min drizzled with a powder sugar lemon glaze...results.... dense, moist..flavor is light with the blueberries and a slight cream cheese cake flavor ribbon thru it..at the end when you hit the glaze it pulls it all together for flavor...pretty in color and the band and hubby went wild over it!! this is a dense moist cake with a subtle blueberry flavor and kick from the lemon glaze at the end....OOMG!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2009
Great starting point for a moist, rich blueberry pound cake! You have to have fun experimenting with flavors in this one: I added 1 tsp. maple flavoring and 1 tsp. cinnamon, and the flavor combination was heavenly! I used a pudding-included cake mix to save myself a step. To make it healthier, I used 1/4 c. raw cane sugar (also affected the flavor; could sub. light brown sugar with the same effect), 1/2 c. unsweetened apple sauce & only 1/4 c. canola oil, and used low-fat cream cheese. We picked LOTS of blueberries last summer, so I used about 2 c. frozen instead of the canned (tossed with a little flour and cinnamon so they wouldn't sink). I added maple flavoring and a little milk to the powdered sugar to make a maple glaze, and came out with a to-die-for coffee cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: St. Peter, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Mosheim, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2009
Jason loved this! I used frozen blueberries. Just whatever I had left in the bag. I defrosted inthe microwave and drained off juice that I then used for the glaze. 2T liquid was too much for glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2008
This was a big dissapointment--it tasted like cake mix with a few tasteless blueberries floating around. I tried to salvage this with a cream cheese frosting, but that didn't help much. Won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RALWATTAR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by berlinetta37303
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2008
Ohhh My Goodness!! This Cake is soooo Good! We Loved It! Thanks For Sharing! :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by berlinetta37303

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Athens, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2008
I made this for dessert when another family came to dinner and it was gone in about 5 minutes! My kids begged me to make it again. My only suggestion is to keep extra water on hand as you blend the batter. I needed more than the recommended 1/4 cup because the batter was a bit too thick. I also used fresh blueberries and a lemon glaze--I will absolutely make this again and again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2008
I used fat-free cream cheese, fat-free pudding (small box),1/2 cup applesauce and 1/4 cup olive oil and added 1 teaspoon of cinn. Also used fresh blueberries and omitted the icing. IT WAS GREAT!! So moist and fluffy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2008
Followed the recipe as is and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2008
Very good...and very pretty...my family loved it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2008
I love this recipe! I have made this countless times and always give out the recipe. I used the glaze once only and thereafter have only used a dusting of powdered sugar. I've never tried it with a lemon cake mix but that sounds great! If my cream cheese isn't at room temperature I microwave it for a few seconds to soften it. I find the best results to be with Betty Crocker cake mixes - if I use another it is way too moist. I've also forgotten to add the sugar and it just makes the blueberries a little more tart. I've tried frozen blueberries but much prefer the canned, well drained and rinsed well and folded really gently into the batter. I made it this morning for my department - it's always a hit with them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 218) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream Cheese Pound Cake III

A classic recipe for a cream cheese pound cake.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Awesome Carrot Cake with Cream Cheese Frosting

This carrot cake is dense and delicious, a real crowd-pleaser.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States