Blueberry Cream Cheese Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2007
We love these muffins. I make them several times a month! When I first made them I too was expecting the yummy creamy cheese middle that the title leads you to beleive will be there. But no these muffins use the cream chese as a cake, there isnt really a need to do all of the layer work you can swirl it or mix it in. However here is a little tip, if you are looking for the yummy creamy cheese middle skip the cream cheese directions from this reciped and use this: 1 tub of cheesecake filling cream cheese (the kind philadelphia has out) 1 tablespoon vanilla add either powdered sugar or regular sugar to taste. mix it all up and lay it out on saran wrap and form a long tube shape. Roll it up and freeze it until frozen solid. then when you make the muffins, fill the muffin cups 3/4 full with the batter and slice the frozen cream cheese mixture into little puck sizes and push them down into the middle of the batter. When you bake the mixture will give you that yummy cream cheese middle you were looking for... just dont eat them right out of the oven.. HOT!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by regi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kemp, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
These were awesome! Wonderful! My husband says they're the best ever. Only changes (1) used vegetable oil instead of olive - I know olive is healthier, but it leaves an odd taste in muffins, (2) used whey instead of buttermilk, not because it's better but because I had lots of whey around that needed to be used!, (3) this made 3 dozen, not 1 dozen. Yum! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corona, California, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2010
Pretty amazing! I substituted fresh local strawberries. I almost didn't use whole wheat because it sounded too healthy, but really --- they were GREAT!!! 375 was fine. No rising problems. It made a total of 20 nice sized muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2006
I'm shocked at noticing that my review will be the first five-star review for this recipe! Granted, these muffins are moist to the point that they are hard to extract from the muffin tins. Indeed, if that's a concern, maybe bake them a little longer or add a bit more flour? I don't know. I'm not a baker. I added one cup raspberries to the 1 cup blueberries, and I'm glad I did. It was a taste explosion. If I were rating this recipe on appearance, I might go with four stars; they turned out flatter than many muffin recipies I've prepared. Still, if you are looking for taste, throw an extra cup of fruit in the batter and be prepared to be awed. The cream cheese angle is genius. Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CURTISLEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valley, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2006
These tasted great which is why I give it five stars, but still did not turn out quite like I expected. There was a lot of filling left over and they did not rise very high, but still tasty so thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by catlover

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Carlsbad, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
Loved these muffins. I made them EXACTLY as written. I filled each cup with a total 3T of the batter + filling + batter. This filled each cup to the top. M muffins came out nice a round and beautiful (they weren't flat-topped as others have mentioned -- even after they cooled). I also had NO batter left, although I had quite a bit of unused filling left over. If you are filling the muffin cups to the top, you will not have batter left over. It is true, the "filling" part is not a creamy, gooey center as the recipes descriptions would have you believe. However, that didn't matter at all to me, because I thought the muffins tasted so good! I also used the olive oil, and I still thought that they tasted great! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2007
I am writing this about 5min after eating one of these muffins. YUM! Great texture and taste. I used vegetable oil in place of olive oil because I don't like the olive oil flavor in baking. Other than that, I followed the directions exactly. There was much more cream cheese mix than needed for one batch of muffins so I ended up making two.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mays Landing, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2009
Excellent recipe. I didn't have whole wheat flour so I just used regular white. They were wonderful but came out to 24! Can't wait to try cherries to substitue blueberries! They were moist & delicious - not too difficult. Not sure why others had problems
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bayside, New York, USA
Living In: Whitestone, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2009
Excellent. To those who didn't like the flavour, substitute your favourite baking oil for the olive oil, the taste of which tends to take over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2012
Heaven help you if you have little self control...these things are delish! I didn't have enough sour cream on hand so made up the difference with 1/2 & 1/2 cream, 1% milk and 1 tablespoon of vinegar...they made 24 really puffy muffins - and no overflow into bottom of oven...thankful for this. I used a commercial vanilla sugar on top for color and crunch-had to give them away to neighbors before I inhaled the whole works
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cranbrook, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

See how to make big bakery-style blueberry muffins!

Cream Cheese Arepas

See how to make beautiful cream cheese breakfast arepas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States