Blueberry Cream Cheese Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2007
We love these muffins. I make them several times a month! When I first made them I too was expecting the yummy creamy cheese middle that the title leads you to beleive will be there. But no these muffins use the cream chese as a cake, there isnt really a need to do all of the layer work you can swirl it or mix it in. However here is a little tip, if you are looking for the yummy creamy cheese middle skip the cream cheese directions from this reciped and use this: 1 tub of cheesecake filling cream cheese (the kind philadelphia has out) 1 tablespoon vanilla add either powdered sugar or regular sugar to taste. mix it all up and lay it out on saran wrap and form a long tube shape. Roll it up and freeze it until frozen solid. then when you make the muffins, fill the muffin cups 3/4 full with the batter and slice the frozen cream cheese mixture into little puck sizes and push them down into the middle of the batter. When you bake the mixture will give you that yummy cream cheese middle you were looking for... just dont eat them right out of the oven.. HOT!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by regi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kemp, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Photo by Pam Ziegler Lutz
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2008
These are very tasty, but they really do not rise up. They baked up with flat tops and the blueberries all sank to the bottom. I added extra blueberries and wound up with 24 muffins, not 12, when I followed the directions to add 1 TBS each of batter, filling, and batter again. It worked out perfectly that way. Be careful not to overmix the batter - that's what makes them tough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam Ziegler Lutz

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2007
I am writing this about 5min after eating one of these muffins. YUM! Great texture and taste. I used vegetable oil in place of olive oil because I don't like the olive oil flavor in baking. Other than that, I followed the directions exactly. There was much more cream cheese mix than needed for one batch of muffins so I ended up making two.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mays Landing, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2007
These tasted good, but it was a lot of work for muffins. WARNING: It makes too much; cut the recipe in half. I had so much batter that I filled the muffin tin to the top and still had a bunch left over. Because I stuffed the tin, batter overflowed during cooking. Now, I'm cleaning my oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brian the Kitchen Ninja

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2009
Next time I will definitely use more blueberries, turn the oven down to 350 instead of 375 (i also experienced burning :( of a few muffins). Do not forget to grease the muffin tinS (it takes 2 tins for this recipe) and DO NOT FILL ALL THE WAY. Fill about 1/2 to 3/4 full only. You can imagine what happened to my muffins...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sugarcookie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2009
Excellent. To those who didn't like the flavour, substitute your favourite baking oil for the olive oil, the taste of which tends to take over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
I was so excited to make these muffins for my daughter's Easter breakfast, they did not disappoint! They were so easy to make, especially for me since I've only baked from scratch a handful of times. They're very moist, and don't crumble and fall apart which is a huge plus for feeding a two year old. It definitely made more than 12 muffins though, more like 16 or 17, but that's fine with me. I think if I make these again, I will definitely put double or even triple the cream cheese filling, I LOVE the texture & taste of the filling and these need more! That's the only reason it didn't get a 5 star in my opinion. Will definitely make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BettysMommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2006
I'm shocked at noticing that my review will be the first five-star review for this recipe! Granted, these muffins are moist to the point that they are hard to extract from the muffin tins. Indeed, if that's a concern, maybe bake them a little longer or add a bit more flour? I don't know. I'm not a baker. I added one cup raspberries to the 1 cup blueberries, and I'm glad I did. It was a taste explosion. If I were rating this recipe on appearance, I might go with four stars; they turned out flatter than many muffin recipies I've prepared. Still, if you are looking for taste, throw an extra cup of fruit in the batter and be prepared to be awed. The cream cheese angle is genius. Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CURTISLEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valley, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2011
I enjoyed this very much. Though I altered the recipe. I used one stick butter creamed with one cup sugar. 2 duck eggs. 1 1/2 cup butter milk. 1 cup white flour/1 cup whole wheat. 2 tsp. baking powder and 1/4 baking soda. 1 tsp salt. 2 cups blueberries. I made the filling the same.It needed more than 1 Tbsp filling. I think I will leave out the sour cream next time so it will be cream cheesier. Nothing ran over and the recipe made 12 muffins. I baked it at 350 degrees.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianna Moorer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Napa, California, USA
Living In: Puckett, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
These were awesome! Wonderful! My husband says they're the best ever. Only changes (1) used vegetable oil instead of olive - I know olive is healthier, but it leaves an odd taste in muffins, (2) used whey instead of buttermilk, not because it's better but because I had lots of whey around that needed to be used!, (3) this made 3 dozen, not 1 dozen. Yum! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corona, California, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Spring Asparagus
Spring Asparagus

The new crop of asparagus is finally here. Enjoy it in hundreds of different ways.

Homemade Waffles
Homemade Waffles

Waffles make Sunday mornings special, but they're great for lunch and dinner, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

See how to make big bakery-style blueberry muffins!

Cream Cheese Arepas

See how to make beautiful cream cheese breakfast arepas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States