Blueberry Cream Cheese Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2009
I was hesitant to make this recipe based on the other reviews. Unfortunatley they were right. This recipe wasn't what I expected. They were good but not great. I was worried about the comments about it yielding so much so I decided to put the dough into a cake pan. This worked perfectly, but you have to watch the time more carefully. If I make them again I'll lower the temp to 350F, I think 375 was to high, mine were a little burnt. They had a great taste and they were extremely moist. I used extra blueberries like the other reviews recommented. I will try this recipe again with cranberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Big Bear City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2009
Excellent. To those who didn't like the flavour, substitute your favourite baking oil for the olive oil, the taste of which tends to take over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2009
They taste okay, a little sweet I think next time i'll use 1/2 a cup of sugar in the muffin mix. Also, I lowered the temp to 350 and needed to bake 30 minutes. My first batch with the recipes directions came out gooey on the inside and too dark on the outside. I'm sure they'll be better next time. :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GidgetMcD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2009
Excellent recipe. I didn't have whole wheat flour so I just used regular white. They were wonderful but came out to 24! Can't wait to try cherries to substitue blueberries! They were moist & delicious - not too difficult. Not sure why others had problems
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bayside, New York, USA
Living In: Whitestone, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pam Ziegler Lutz
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2008
These are very tasty, but they really do not rise up. They baked up with flat tops and the blueberries all sank to the bottom. I added extra blueberries and wound up with 24 muffins, not 12, when I followed the directions to add 1 TBS each of batter, filling, and batter again. It worked out perfectly that way. Be careful not to overmix the batter - that's what makes them tough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam Ziegler Lutz

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2007
We love these muffins. I make them several times a month! When I first made them I too was expecting the yummy creamy cheese middle that the title leads you to beleive will be there. But no these muffins use the cream chese as a cake, there isnt really a need to do all of the layer work you can swirl it or mix it in. However here is a little tip, if you are looking for the yummy creamy cheese middle skip the cream cheese directions from this reciped and use this: 1 tub of cheesecake filling cream cheese (the kind philadelphia has out) 1 tablespoon vanilla add either powdered sugar or regular sugar to taste. mix it all up and lay it out on saran wrap and form a long tube shape. Roll it up and freeze it until frozen solid. then when you make the muffins, fill the muffin cups 3/4 full with the batter and slice the frozen cream cheese mixture into little puck sizes and push them down into the middle of the batter. When you bake the mixture will give you that yummy cream cheese middle you were looking for... just dont eat them right out of the oven.. HOT!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by regi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kemp, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2007
I am writing this about 5min after eating one of these muffins. YUM! Great texture and taste. I used vegetable oil in place of olive oil because I don't like the olive oil flavor in baking. Other than that, I followed the directions exactly. There was much more cream cheese mix than needed for one batch of muffins so I ended up making two.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mays Landing, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2007
I didn't like these muffins at all. They took a long time to prepare and just didn't taste right to me. They weren't liked by my family either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2007
These tasted good, but it was a lot of work for muffins. WARNING: It makes too much; cut the recipe in half. I had so much batter that I filled the muffin tin to the top and still had a bunch left over. Because I stuffed the tin, batter overflowed during cooking. Now, I'm cleaning my oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brian the Kitchen Ninja

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2007
I only rated them 4 stars out of the 5 because they did burn on the bottoms and I did use muffin cup liners. I cooked them at 350 for about 5 minutes less than the time stated. I also got 18 muffins out of the recipe and way too much filling was left over :( what a waste. My muffins did turn out fluffy flavorful and moist though. I did as another reviewer suggested and added a cup of raspberries with the blueberries and it was awesome. The cream cheese filling blended in though with the batter, don't think I would have missed it had I not added it. Maybe try that way next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy G.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Thorold, Ontario, Canada

Displaying results 11-20 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

See how to make big bakery-style blueberry muffins!

Cream Cheese Arepas

See how to make beautiful cream cheese breakfast arepas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States