Blueberry Cornmeal Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2005
I adapted the original recipe. I exchanged the water for soymilk, adding 1 Tbsp vinegar to the soymilk. I also added 1 Tbsp sugar, the grated rind of a lemon, and 1/2 tsp vanilla. My batter was a little runny, so I sprinkled in about a Tbsp or so more of cornmeal. I'll be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2002
This pancake was easy to make, but it was the worst tasting pancake I ever ate. I threw the remaining batter away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2012
These were very flat, tasteless pancakes. I subbed ordinary dairy milk for the soy milk and ended up adding 1/3 cup of sugar once I tasted the first one and that helped, but I won't be making these again . these just caught my attention as I thought they would be a little like a pancake version of Nigella's blueberry cornmeal muffins - they absolutely were not.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Louiselombard

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Westville, Kwazulu-Natal, South Africa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2002
I loved them. I cook for a few vegans and they loved the pancakes. So easy to make. The pancakes tasted just like buckwheat. Wonderful! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2008
Very good basic recipe! I add a little touch of honey and use vanilla soy milk. I have also added a little bit of orange extract to them which makes them out of this world. My kids love them! I use frozen blueberries and chop them up a little so they aren't lumpy. I've made these dozens of times, and they are a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather Johnson Hendrix

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2002
If you like buckwheat pancakes, you will enjoy the firm and excellent taste of these pancakes. Very, very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2006
Very filling breakfast. I made a few changes. Scaled the recipe for 3 servings, didn't use any oil, used light vanilla soy milk, added a mashed very ripe banana, 1 cup blueberries, added vanilla, cinnamon, nutmeg, and a little splenda for baking, and served with syrup warmed with cinnamon & nutmeg. YUM! Thanks for a great starter recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mominml
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2010
Used almond milk instead of soy milk and cream of wheat instead of the cornmeal. I like that the cream of wheat gave it some texture. I was the only one who ate these. It made enough for me to freeze some for later. I also used frozen blueberrie, and they worked just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2002
they were o.k. lack a little in taste.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
Could be my mistake, but I can't imagine them turning out much better. My suggestion would be to beat them with a blender before letting it sit to get some air trapped in the batter. Maybe use some kind of egg replacer
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Todd's Famous Blueberry Pancakes

See how to make delicious blueberry pancakes from scratch.

How to Make Blueberry Pancakes

There’s a better way to make blueberry pancakes. See how it's done!

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States