Blueberry Cornmeal Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2009
Very very good. I used skim instead of soy milk, halved the recipe, and used white four instead of wheat. I definitely want to try it with the wheat, but even without these were company-worthy. They were not sweet, which my boyfriend missed, but I really liked it and part or all of the batch could be sweetened up for personal taste. Will be repeated, thanks very much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by M. Stoffel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Allenton, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Germantown, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2009
Good for egg-free. Needs 1-2 Tbs honey or sugar if you want a slightly sweet result. Batter as written is not sweet at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
My husband is from the south and loved the cornmeal in them. I actually really liked eating them plain. Very very good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2008
Thanks for sharing this recipe. I used it as a base and made a couple changes to suit our taste. I added the cornmeal to the milk and water, along with a squeeze of lemon, an egg, a pinch of sugar and some vanilla. This I let stand for five minutes, and added the flour, baking powder, salt and baking soda last (well, almost last, I added the blueberries dead last). I used a little more flour than listed, cos of the extra liquid. Cooked them in a nonstick pan with butter. Fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rhymeswith16

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Napa, California, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2008
I made these for myself and really liked them, they do have a heavier buckwheat taste which I like but I might not serve them to other people who are more into all american pancakes. I made these healthier by using fax seed in the recipe and instead of using syrup I sauteed strawberries with vanilla soymilk mixed with a big of cornstarch and spenda in a pan which made a creamy sauce to pour over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HealthyFoodLover

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2008
Really good recipe, and vegan too! I used Oregon Chai instead of water. It added a nice spice flavor...mmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2008
Very good basic recipe! I add a little touch of honey and use vanilla soy milk. I have also added a little bit of orange extract to them which makes them out of this world. My kids love them! I use frozen blueberries and chop them up a little so they aren't lumpy. I've made these dozens of times, and they are a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heatherene4572

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2007
Didn't have soy milk, but my usual fat free milk worked just fine. These were different and delicious. Thanks Jen!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2007
This recipe was refreshing and quite filling! We used fresh blueberries and the flavor was outstanding. Thanks so much for sharing this recipe, we will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2007
Oh yeah another good recipe! I was a little surprised they turned out as good as they did without any egg. I used 1/3 orange juice and 1/4 cup water the water and Kamut flour instead of w.w. and added a tbs. of real maple syrup. I served with an awesome blueberry sauce from this site
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hinton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Todd's Famous Blueberry Pancakes

See how to make delicious blueberry pancakes from scratch.

How to Make Blueberry Pancakes

There’s a better way to make blueberry pancakes. See how it's done!

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States