Blueberry Cornmeal Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2010
I followed the recipe EXACTLY, from every ingredient to the cooking time, and they were amazing, attractive, and unique. They are so easy to make, too. I will be repeating these often. I was a little worried about adding a whole Tablespoon of baking powder, worried they might taste bitter, but they weren't. They were divine. Not too sweet, either. I liked the amount of blueberries as I think it kept the flavors all subtle and complimenting each other rather than overpowering. Thanks for the wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2010
This is the quintessential muffin blueberry muffin recipe. Everyone who tried one ooooh'ed and ahhh'ed. Thank you! PS -- I also added a few tablespoons of ground flax seed. and they were still delectable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2010
very nice - just needed a little more blueberries, Have made it twice already.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jazzy Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: East Brunswick, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2009
I substituted frozen cranberries for blueberries. I added 1/2 cup Splenda, though I think this extra sweetener (or 1/2 cup sugar, whatever you prefer) is needed for this recipe, regardless of whether you use cranberries or blueberries. Very delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mms09

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2009
I made these yesterday for about 150 kids where I work. THEY LOVED THEM!!!! I'm never going back to box muffins again. I like the cornmeal, it adds a whole grain. Next time I'm going to try to cut down the sugar and maybe try apples instead of blueberries just to try something new.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2009
Fantastic! I made the recipe as written and they are soo good! My 3 year old, very picky son loves these muffins! Having read the reviews that said the muffins don't stay fresh, I stored these in the fridge and reheated them in the microwave... fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2009
I had been looking for a blueberry cornmeal muffin recipe that would be as good as the one I had at an upscale hotel and this one is even better! I have made these many, many times now and have played around with the recipe too. Don't bother changing any of the ingredients, these are perfect and best tasting just the way the recipe is written. My husband has been the "judge" of all of my variations (using whole wheat flour, less sugar, etc...) and he has said the original is definitely the winner. I did take the advice of other reivewers and add a bit more brown sugar to the batter and since I love the crunch that the cornmeal provides I do add a bit more that the recipe calls for. I use fresh blueberries so no need to coat with flour. These are also so simple to mix up that you can make them in the morning for breakfast and have amazing tasting and hot muffins from the oven for breakfast. I have found that these are best eaten on the same day as baking. They don't stay fresh that long which is not a problem as they never make it past a day in our house anyway. I highly recommend making these muffins, you will not be disappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hud

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2009
I made these with my son and we did one batch with blueberries and one with chopped up fresh strawberries. The strawberry ones were more popular but both were good. I did add more brown sugar 3/4 a cup. I did add a tsp of vanilla to the wet however. I found them a bit crumbly to get out of the pan even when i waited the 10 minutes but i also added more like 2 cups of fruit to each bunch so they were moister. Very good though! and freeze well too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2009
these were very good! I love the cornmeal texture and taste. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vivienne

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2009
These were very good. I think a change in proportions could send them over the top. I plan to make them again with a little more milk (they were a tad dry), a little less butter (a touch too greasy, and I don't need the fat) and either more blueberries or more brown sugar to make them sweeter. Still, this is a very tasty recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 145) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

See how to make big bakery-style blueberry muffins!

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Low-Fat Blueberry Bran Muffins

These muffins are so moist and flavorful, you won't believe they're healthy, too!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States