Blueberry Corn Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2008
I thought this was a great recipe. I made a few changes to make it healthier, since I am on a diet. My kids, 3 and 2 yrs, both gobbled them up! Changes I made: used a mashed banana in place of the butter. Used fat-free milk. Used 2 egg whites instead of one full egg. With these changes the recipes nutritional values became (per muffin): 112 Calories, 0.5g fat, 0.2 cholesterol, 25g carbs, 1.3g fiber For those on Weight Watchers: each muffin is 2 points :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Quebec, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Catlin
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2010
Really enjoyed these muffins. I replaced the all-purpose flour with whole wheat. All of the rest I kep the same. The cornmeal adds a slight sweetness that we really liked. I got exactly 12 perfect muffins out of the batter. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Catlin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mcpherson, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2008
These were really good although i did alter the recipe i used whole wheat flour instead of white and i also used apple sauce instead of butter and they were really good i think next time i will use a banana next time!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by healthnuthikers

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Carrollton, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2010
These are really good as a healthy breakfast muffin. I followed the recipe as written and the texture and taste were perfect! I got 12 muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mi ~ (a PRO at) Being Mi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alma, Michigan, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
These turned out delicious! I used frozen blueberries that I had frozen last fall. They were moist and crumbly all at the same time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Arlington, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
This is a great alternative to traditional blueberry muffins. The cornmeal adds great texture and flavor without being too sweet. Made this several times and comes out perfect according to the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2010
Very good! I less-than-halved the sugars, in fact I used just a few TBSPs of agave, and upped milk accordingly since sugar often acts as a liquid in batters moisture-wise. Used some 35% cream too (maybe 1/4 cup), to add richness. Otherwise followed to a T. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alarose

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2010
really good recipe, I like the sweetness that the cornmeal offers and the added texture. I used mixed frozen berries instead, which included blackberries and rasberries--totally recommend that. I also used whole wheat flour which made it a little more dense, but still a very hearty, tasty muffin. I think cinnamon might add some extra kick to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sheerblonde05

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2009
what a great alternative blueberry muffin recipe. my husband and i have been watching what we eat and i wanted to try something that would be easy to grab on the way out of the house in the morning...and also to have as a snack! perfect! the muffins were sweet and soooft and the amount of blueberries were perfect. will be making this often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Joanne Davis
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2007
Delicious! I used frozen blueberries and they came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States