Blueberry Corn Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2012
These were good but I felt they needed more fat. They were a bit dry and not rich. I have had this type of muffin before and the fat content makes a difference with the cornmeal. I appreciate the health concern but let's face it there are much healthier choices then muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TheBritishBaker
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2012
These were great muffins, I followed the base recipe exactly although I did use a combination of chopped fresh Mango and Pineapple in place of the blueberries (just because they needed using up). These were delicious tasting muffins, the only negative for me was they came out of the oven flat, where I prefer a nice well risen muffin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheBritishBaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakewell, Derbyshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2012
Made this exactly to the letter. Will not remake
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
This is a great alternative to traditional blueberry muffins. The cornmeal adds great texture and flavor without being too sweet. Made this several times and comes out perfect according to the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2011
These were awesome! Love the different texture the cornmeal adds. I sprinkled some cinnamon sugar on the tops, before cooking. It gave a great flavor, as wel as a slightly crunchy top. YUM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KDA1114

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shelbyville, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
These turned out delicious! I used frozen blueberries that I had frozen last fall. They were moist and crumbly all at the same time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Arlington, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
YUM! Perfect. Moist and so good, I even used whole wheat flour and you couldn't tell. I tested these because I am going to make the teacher's birthday snack at my daughters nursery school. These were perfect, but I think I'll use reg. flour to make them more like reg. cupcake for the kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
IMPORTANT: Make sure to use medium-ground cornmeal, not coarse-ground--course-ground is a little too grainy for muffins. That said, this is a really tasty recipe! I modified it to make it healthier: I replaced half of the butter with applesauce, and used half whole-wheat flour. The only problem I had was that the batter seemed rather dense, and I only got 10 smallish (but very dense and moist) muffins. For some reason, these muffins didn't rise very much. I don't know if that's because of my modifications, but they usually don't produce that effect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
I made the healthy version with the banana instead of butter and double the egg whites instead of one whole egg. They were delicious.....a hit with all ages!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CC♥'s2bake
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
I changed some minor aspects of this recipe only to suit the way I normally bake - that is, using whole wheat flour for the all purpose and canola oil for the butter. I also chose dried blueberries (1/4 cup) as they yield much more flavor once baked into a muffin than do fresh or frozen berries. The cornmeal gave these muffins a pleasant texture and sweetness. The submitter suggests apples as an alternative to the blueberries, but with the hint of nutmeg, I found myself thinking this recipe would be really nice with pears as well. I would suggest 350 degrees for the baking temperature. Mine were done perfectly at 350 for 20 minutes and would have been much too 'well done' at 400.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States