Blueberry Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2014
I just made these after my bf raved about some blueberry lemon scones he had at a local bakery, and I thought I'd try to make something similar. I basically followed this recipe, but also went from a lot of the reviews here, too. That's why I love this site! :) Anyway, I used two cups of fresh blueberries, the juice and zest of one lemon, and a teaspoon of vanilla. I also omitted the milk since my wet ingredients were pretty thin from the lemon juice. After baking, I followed another review and mixed lemon juice and powdered sugar to make a glaze. These were so delicious! My boyfriend loved them, too! We brought them camping. They were great to have in the morning with coffee while we prepped for our "real" breakfast ;) and also great as a snack. This recipe is a definite keeper!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2014
Yummy. Made some changes: I only had 6 oz of blueberries, instead of 8 (1 cup) so I chopped up some cherries! Also I do not have lemon extract, so instead I added 1/2 tsp of lemon juice and the zest of about 1/2 lemon. Last, I do not have milk in my home, almond milk worked just fine! Finally, I did a thin drizzle of lemon glaze (lemon juice and powder sugar).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
DELISH! I made a few modifications based on other reviews: added an extra 1/4 cup of butter, used the zest of 1 lemon and juice of half of it in place of the extract, I sliced the blueberries in half and tossed them in flour before mixing in, once the cookies cooled I topped them with a glaze of lemon juice and icing sugar. These cookies flew off the plate, seriously didn't last longer than 3 hours in my house. We are not big blueberry eaters but this recipe was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2014
Love this recipe! The only changes I made were to add 2T fresh lemon juice (I had no extract), 1 1/2tsp lemon zest, and 1/4 brown sugar to the mix. Since they were close to the texture of scones, I made some lemon curd to go with them. My husband like them so well that I am making several batches for him to take to the office in the morning for his patients. GREAT with coffee! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Lake Mary, Florida, USA
Living In: Piedmont, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2014
They came out a little "pancakey". However, I had added about 2 tbs of cream cheese into the butter sugar creamed mixture and I found this added a lot of richness and density to the cookies. Also I finished them off with a little white chocolate glaze (in the spirit of July 4th I was trying to make the red white and blue). They taste awesome. I had them this morning with a tall glass of milk and it was delicious. While they are dense and tasty they aren't too heavy or sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deborah Poznansky

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2014
Wow! These are great! As others have said they are cake-like cookies and so addicting to eat. I followed some advice and used 1.5 cups of blueberries. I also rolled some in sugar, some in cinnamon-sugar, and left some plain. The favorite were the ones rolled in sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2014
First time making this and the ENTIRE family loved it. Super easy and rewarding. Definitely will do again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2013
Instead of lemon extract I substituted it for Vanilla extract and then sprinked them with cinnamon sugar mixture before baking
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2013
We all loved this recipe, as others have said its like a scone or cake. I can't pin point what its is exactly but they tasted AWESOME!! Thanks Pamela, I'm from upstate too. Our blueberries we great this year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ns1026

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norwich, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2013
I thought this cookie recipe was really good. I added an additional 1/2 cup of blueberries to the batter 1 cup seemed too little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Blueberry Crumb Bars

See how to make simple, scrumptious blueberry bar cookies.

Blackberry and Blueberry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart, two-berry pie from scratch.

Chef John's Blueberry Clafoutis

See how to make a super quick-and-easy fruit dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States