Blueberry Coffee Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2005
Great recipe! I made three alternations. First, I added a little more milk as suggested by another reviewer so that the total amount was a little less than 3/4 c. It made it super easy to spread in the pan. Second, I substituted slivered almonds for the pecans. Third, I added 2 T almond extract to the batter...the house smelled wonderful as it cooked for about 50 minutes. Be sure to use fresh blueberries so you don't get the bleeding from frozen blueberries. Thankfully, they are in season now so 2 cups should cost about $2.50. Overally, a great recipe - one that I am sharing at a potluck tonight with friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
85 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
This cake was so good, my husband loved it. I did add alittle more milk almost 3/4 cup. I added 1 tsp vanilla & 1/2 tsp almond extract. I cooked it on 350 for approx. 50 minutes, just keep checking it to make sure you do not overcook it. I used blueberries I had frozen as I pick lots each year. Do not unthaw the berries. I put on a papertowel to absorb the frost if there is some. I then mix them with 1-2 tbsp flour very gently. This really does make a difference when baking with frozen blueberries. I will make this cake from now on. Debra
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2006
truly the best coffee cake I've ever made. It recieved great raves from my bible study group. I used frozen berries making the batter stiff and spreading in the pan a bit challenging butit did not affect the end result. Spectacular!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ocala, Florida, USA
Living In: Dalton, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2006
This coffee cake was wonderful! I didnt add the pecans because I didnt have any on hand. I also just baked it in a 9x9 greased pan. It was beautiful when I took it out of the oven. I am making it again for a friend today. Delicious!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by antiquegrrl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manheim, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2002
Wonderful coffee cake with great topping! I made one slight alteration by substiting 2 tsp. vanilla for an equivalent quantity of the milk. I did notice that it took more like an hour to finish rather than 45 minutes, but that may just be my oven. Highly recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Poughkeepsie, New York, USA
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2006
thanks a ton, Donean! as others suggested, added the 1/4 C milk and it worked simply and perfectly. (i also nixed the cinnamon in the streusel, just cause that seemed sorta outta sorts with blueberry to me) just remember to try not to mix too much before incorporating the blueberries and to throw the batter into the pan directly afterwards so the berries don't have time to settle out last variation i can attest to is using a tube pan and layering the streusel on top about 5 or 10 minutes before the cake was done, after the cake had set sufficiently so that i didn't deform it (unlike the first time). returning the cake to the oven for the last 5 or 10 minutes. then you need to do a bit of flipping to serve streusel-side-up, but it's pretty resilient stuff
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
I made this for overnight guests to serve as breakfast. They loved it! Very simple to make and delicious. It is not very sweet, which is great for my personal taste, but those who like it sweeter may want to add more sugar--either in the batter or topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris I.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2002
Great recipe! This is a good-not too sweet(very moist at 350 for 42 minutes) cake with a crunchy topping and generous amount of blueberries. Very pretty in my glass cake keeper(I like that it took a springform pan as it was pretty enough to serve to company) It was easy to make and dissappeared quickly even though I forgot to add the cinnamon. I'm not sure I'll add it next time either! My husband loved it with milk on it and I had a hard time keeping him away from it. A keeper for sure!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WENDYDARLING

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
OMG! Everyone loved it. I did add extra milk as other reviewers recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TN Monkeymomma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Carmel, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2006
This is a stupendous recipe! (I'm eating it right now, it just came from the oven.) I love blueberrys, so this recipe hits the spot. I altered the crumbly mixture, though, for lack of some ingredients: instead of brown sugar, I used white sugar; instead of cinnamon and pecans, I substituted crumbled-up Fig Newton Bars, 1/4 cup, and 1/4 cup crumbled-up raisin bread, in case it got to sweet. It turned out excellent. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aurora, Illinois, USA
Living In: Malta, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 145) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Blueberry Coffee Cake I

This dense, moist cake is easy to assemble and perfect with coffee.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States