Blueberry Coffee Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
Made this for Christmas morning breakfast - and it was fantastic! I did add a couple more tablespoons milk and a splash of vanilla, but otherwise followed the recipe exactly. It turned out just like the picture and tastes GREAT! The pecans give it just the right amount of chewiness, as the cake and blueberries are quite soft and luxurious. I used frozen blueberries, just barely defrosted, tossed in a couple tablespoons of flour, and they turned out perfectly. Definitely adding this one to my repertoire!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
Better than other blueberry coffee cakes on this site. Tried all three and this is the winner. My daughter's health teacher loved it so much that she made it for her school gathering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Taipei, Taipei, Taiwan
Living In: Kennesaw, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
Found this pretty flat-tasting despite the addition of 2 tsp of vanilla. I took it to a neighbor's house for a coffee date and her first comment was, "Wow, this tastes healthy." Not what you want to hear! Maybe I did something wrong without realizing it. Thanks anyway, but I probably won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Paltz, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2011
Wonderful recipe! I made a few changes also, 3/4 cup milk like some others, made it easier to spread. I didn't have any fresh fruit either, but I had a bag of frozen mixed berries (strawberries, blueberries, raspberries and blackberries) which I added to the batter, still frozen, and it was DELICIOUS! I also used chopped almonds in the topping as it was what I had on hand. Next time I'll put some almond extract in the batter as well. And finally, I made this and assembled it the night before, covered and refrigerated all night, and baked it in the morning. It worked perfectly! I just added about 10 extra minutes baking time to account for the coffee cake being chilly from the fridge. I also baked it in a stoneware deep dish pie plate which tend to take a bit longer anyway. I'm definitely making this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2011
This recipe needs the extra milk (1/4 c) or it will be too stiff to spread in the pain, but with the extra milk it is great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jessicado

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2011
good recipe! I added in an extra 1/4 cup goat yogurt. When adding the frozen blueberry's you should lightly coat them in flour first to prevent them from bleeding! My mom showed me that trick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2011
Maybe half the topping next time, but still good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissMeredith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2011
WONDERFUL - made exactly as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2011
This was a really good coffee cake. I took it out after 40ish minutes, as my toothpick came out with clean. The only modifications I made was to add a teaspoon of vanilla extract and a teaspoon of almond extract, and I took the advice of previous reviewers and added a bit more milk. You should definitely eat this while it is still warm, with a great cup of coffee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by RWC4520
Reviewed: May 29, 2011
Excellent coffee cake! I followed the other reviewers' suggestion and increased the milk to 3/4 cup. I also used white whole wheat flour (you read that right...it's whole wheat flour that is milled to bake just like white flour, but has all the nutrition of whole wheat). I also added 3 TB buttermilk powder and 1/2 tsp almond extract (should have used at least a full tsp, but didn't want to overwhelm the blueberry flavor). I have a small hand-cranked food processor that is perfect for making the streusel topping. I baked this in a glass 9X9 pan, and it turned out perfect in 45 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RWC4520

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Falling Waters, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 155) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Blueberry Coffee Cake I

This dense, moist cake is easy to assemble and perfect with coffee.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States