Blueberry Coffee Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2008
Very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pudden Head
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2008
Let me kick off this review by saying that this recipe was absolutly wonderful! This was an excellent way to make use of blueberries. My church group thought they were just delightful! I will deffinaly make this recipe again if the circumatances apply. Job well done masterful creator!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2008
I used canned blueberries and baked in a bundt pan. Didn't use the pecans...but everything else as the recipe was written. Good recipe. The cake wasn't real sturdy. It fell apart pretty easy but tasted very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHELLBACK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 27, 2008
I was running out of regular milk but had buttermilk I could spare so I used that instead but because it's thicker I added almost 1/3 cup more instead of the recommended 1/4 of regular milk. I didn't have pecans but had ground pecans so used that instead. Turned out awesome!!! I will definately make this again and I'd even use the buttermilk again instead of regular milk as well it was so good and moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DebbieRobert

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2008
Added more milk like other posters suggested and it turned out amazing. The cake was very soft and yummmmmmy! Will definitely make again. I only had a cup of blueberries, but it was plenty. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2008
Real Good, The topping and the blueberries were awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Providence Forge, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2008
I had a pile of strawberries I needed to use up, so I made this into a strawberry coffee cake. I added a tsp. of vanilla and 1/2 tsp. of almond extract, and also the extra 1/4 cup of milk recommended by the other reviewers. I left out the cinnamon in the streusel, and used walnuts since that was what I had available. Almonds would probably also have been excellent. Because I used up all the berries I had on hand, I ended up with about 3 cups of diced berries, which was probably too much moisture for the cake. I baked it in a glass 8x8 pan for 50 minutes, and it was still a little puddingy in the middle, but very done on the edges. But it is absolutely delicious! So next time I think I'll make sure to use fewer berries, but otherwise not change my method. It's a very nice cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbiana, Ohio, USA
Living In: Newport News, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2007
My husband rated this as a 4.5 - I didn't actually get to try it because he brought it to a work meeting. I'm told it was very good...one person had three servings! I added 1 tsp. of vanilla and increased the milk by almost a quarter cup, as others recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheri S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Novato, California, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2006
This is a stupendous recipe! (I'm eating it right now, it just came from the oven.) I love blueberrys, so this recipe hits the spot. I altered the crumbly mixture, though, for lack of some ingredients: instead of brown sugar, I used white sugar; instead of cinnamon and pecans, I substituted crumbled-up Fig Newton Bars, 1/4 cup, and 1/4 cup crumbled-up raisin bread, in case it got to sweet. It turned out excellent. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aurora, Illinois, USA
Living In: Malta, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2006
thanks a ton, Donean! as others suggested, added the 1/4 C milk and it worked simply and perfectly. (i also nixed the cinnamon in the streusel, just cause that seemed sorta outta sorts with blueberry to me) just remember to try not to mix too much before incorporating the blueberries and to throw the batter into the pan directly afterwards so the berries don't have time to settle out last variation i can attest to is using a tube pan and layering the streusel on top about 5 or 10 minutes before the cake was done, after the cake had set sufficiently so that i didn't deform it (unlike the first time). returning the cake to the oven for the last 5 or 10 minutes. then you need to do a bit of flipping to serve streusel-side-up, but it's pretty resilient stuff
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 142) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Blueberry Coffee Cake I

This dense, moist cake is easy to assemble and perfect with coffee.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States