Blueberry Coffee Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2014
Just the recipe I was looking for. I omitted the pecans and baked it in a 9x13 on 350, it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
Well, yum. Very easy and very forgiving recipe. I have an abundance of blueberries and am always baking or cooking something with them so I ran out of all purpose flour and had to use about half whole wheat flour, Splenda instead of white sugar, 3/4 cup of buttermilk, and half regular brown sugar and half Splenda brown sugar. Added lots more cinnamon, too. The batter was so thick I was concerned but the cake was very moist, juicy and held the topping well. I used some of the flour to coat the blueberries and baked in a foil wrapped spring form pan. Glad I wrapped the pan in foil because the berries oozed out a bit. Next time I would try lemon juice and zest in the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
Got rave reviews at a church breakfast - even from others known for their baking skills! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Marietta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
This cake was a big hit at my house. I added the extra milk upping it to 3/4 cup and added the tsp of vanilla and 1/2 tsp of almond flavoring. The batter was really thick and gooey but it cooked nicely. My husband said make that again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by K.Downing
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2014
I used the suggestions and added 3/4 cup of milk, 2 tsp of vanilla. To give it that something extra I also used the zest and juice of one lemon in the cake mixture. Once the cake cooled I made a lemon glaze. For the glaze use 2/3 cups confectioners' sugar, sifted, zest and juice of one lemon, and 1 tsp. of milk. Mix well and drizzle on top of the coffee cake. My family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by K.Downing

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wyandotte, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
Ok, so this turned out delicious, aside from my own stupidity... I used a frozen berry mix (strawberries and blueberries) and added them to the batter before they had thawed... so the cake was in the oven for over an hour, finally passed the toothpick test, smelled awesome, beautifully golden brown on the outside... and magically completely raw on the inside :( My boyfriend and I are eating it regardless because it tastes amazing besides the doughy texture :) I also added the extra milk and almond extract modifications as suggested, and my apartment does smell incredible right now. NEXT TIME, I'll use fresh berries instead of frozen.. again, my mistake. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kentville, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Wolfville, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2014
Very good coffee cake with wonderful topping. I used real butter and 2% milk. I also tossed in 1/2 cup of greek yogurt because people recommended more milk, and because I had it, double the pecans in the topping. I did not add or alter any other items and the result got high marks from the diners, though it was a little dry the second day. I appreciate a recipe that is "forgiving" and will make this just as described in future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
I baked it in a dark bundt pan at 325 for 43 minutes and it was just right. I followed the recipe exactly as is (for once!) and it turned out very yummy. Some people may want it a little sweeter but it was the perfect sweetness as a breakfast cake. I should've definitely added a little more milk to make it easier to add it to the pan. I layered some of the crumb mixture at the bottom, in between and some at the top of the cake batter. I didn't measure the blueberries but just used a small clamshell. I'd say it was very good but I'd still like to try out some more of the coffee cake recipes on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bethesda, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2013
it came out pretty good but very dry. easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2013
Really easy, and I thought this was good. Pretty basic; the topping really makes it, so if you want to skip it, you might need to add some more flavor to the dough itself. I used frozen berries and didn't really bother to do anything with them; the only thing that changed was that they sunk a little but not too far to the bottom. Pretty yummy even without the pecans, which I have but was too lazy to chop. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 145) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Blueberry Coffee Cake I

This dense, moist cake is easy to assemble and perfect with coffee.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States