Blueberry Coffee Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2014
If I had to rate it without the adjustments I would give it four stars. I added 1/8 cup of milk, another 1/4 cup blueberries, and a teaspoon of vanilla. My family loved it! I also used brown sugar for the topping but I am going to try it with the white next time. I also decreased the cooking time to 40 minutes, but I used a glass pan. I am not sure if that is why it didn't need to cook as long. Great coffee cake though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bellingham, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2014
baked it on a Friday night and invited a friend over Saturday afternoon to have this recipe with coffee. Only change--substituted apple sauce for oil and added extra applesauce and blueberries to make batter more moist. Friend loved it and we had it with a side dish of strawberries. Stays moist a bit longer also because of the applesauce. Would recommend the recipe for anyone during fresh blueberries season. May try with frozen blueberries if fresh are not in season. if using frozen berries--toss with some flour first. loved the easy to make streusel type topping. hope others will try this recipe too. definitely a new favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cbreadmachine
Living In: Pearl River, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2014
The batter was thick and impossible to spread in a pan or even fold the blueberries into. Not a good start to a recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
This was absolutely a 5 star. I only had 1/4 C. blueberries so I peeled and cored two small red apples and used those to make about a cup and a half fruit. I used half white and half brown sugar in the topping. I only had a glass 8x8 so I lowered the temp to 350 and cooked for 55 minutes. This was very moist, I will definitely be keeping this in the recipe box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissMeredith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2013
I love this recipe! It is incredibly versatile; you can't go wrong. (I don't bother with the streusel, the cake itself is yummy.) I was looking for a coffee cake recipe using oil since I am too lazy or forgetful to make sure the butter is right. I had a ton of fresh blueberries that needed to be used quickly, so I chose this recipe. I doubled the amount of fruit, dumped in tons of blueberries. It was awesome. Then I used firm peaches and Splenda/sugar mix. Perfect. Frozen berries. Perfect. Experimented with chopped apples and applesauce. Perfect. You cannot go wrong with this recipe and there is no fresh or frozen fruit you can't use. And as I said earlier, I always use a lot more fruit than the recipe calls for. Huzzah!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NWDryad

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2013
Really tasty coffee cake and easy to assemble. I used the suggested revisions of 1 1/2 cups flour instead of 2 and added walnuts to the streusel topping which worked out fantastic for me. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by figlet

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glendale, California, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2013
Made this last night, it was so easy and came out great. I used canned blueberries (drained). I also added some vanilla extract. Following a users suggestion, I increased the recipe by 1.5 (instead of 2C flour, 3C,etc) and made it in a 9x13 pan. Glad I did :-) I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MMS1115

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Colma, California, USA
Living In: Alkmaar, Noord-Holland, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2013
tried this this morning, took advice of others, added a smidge more oil, tsp of cinnamon, 1/3 c. banilla yogurt, 1 tsp of vanilla and replaced sugar for topping with brown sugar.....FANTABULOUS!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donna

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 18, 2013
cake was drier than I would had liked. Topping just ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Union, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Blueberry Coffee Cake I

This dense, moist cake is easy to assemble and perfect with coffee.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States