Blueberry Coffee Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: May 3, 2006
OK, so here is the deal. This cake tasted wonderful (due mainly to the fact that I tweeked it a lot, I think) It was the absolute dryest cake I have ever made though! I had added sliced almonds and a little almond extract to the batter, as well as some vanilla. I replaced the milk with sour cream (closer to 3/4 cup), as most coffecakes call for that, and not milk. It was SOOO thick that I literally had to press it in to my cake pan with my fingers, trying to distrubute it properly. I though though that maybe the moisture from the blueberrys would bake into the cake, and that was the reason for having the batter so thick. It came out so crumbly (not in a good way!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chelsey Wolnowski

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Queen Charlotte, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2004
Too dry, and the topping was way too sugary. I wasted my blueberries. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2004
I added extra blueberries (still could've used some more) and it still came out very very dry, although the taste was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lece

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Stockholm, Stockholms, Sweden

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2004
this cake was all right....the batter was very thick and i think the cake was a little too dense but it had a nice taste overall.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2003
I made this recipe as muffins. The taste was excellent, but they are rather dense for muffins. I think they would have been better as a coffee cake. I baked at 375 or 23 minutes and they were done perfectly. One think I notices was the batter is very think. I was nervous about this, but they did turn our fine. If I want to make a coffee cake I would use this recipe again, but I think I will keep looking for a blueberry muffin recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2003
This is a great recipe. I used half wheat flour and wheat flour for the topping. I also added more than 1 cup of blueberries. The boys just loved it, actually they told me that there was something wrong with it, since half of it was gone by the time the two of them were done eating breakfast. Thanks so much for offering this great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fredonia, New York, USA
Living In: Newark, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2003
My daughter just started school this week and chose this "Blueberry Cake" as her special treat. (She's on a serious blueberry binge lately!) This coffee cake was just what we were looking for. It was easy to prepare, and not too sweet- I liked that, and chock full of juicy blueberries- she loves that. And since hubby and son won't touch coffee cake, we're two happy gals! Thanks Patty! **note: Although my oven bakes hot, this only took 20 minutes to bake...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2003
This was a fabulous blueberry crumb. My family loves the extra crumb so I doubled that mixture. It was a hearty crumb cake...that is how NYers like it! Great recipe overall...will continue to use it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paige McLaughlin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2003
Too heavy, nice taste but I don't think it will work in muffins, I'll never do this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2002
This was excellent! I doubled the blueberries, otherwise I made it exactly as written. This one had rave reviews at a family Christmas brunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 95) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Blueberry Coffee Cake I

This dense, moist cake is easy to assemble and perfect with coffee.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States