Blueberry Coffee Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2011
This coffee cake had a great flavor, but not enough blueberry preserves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauren

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
I don't know why, but I expected a lot more from a commercially sponsored recipe. One would assume their recipes would be tested and retested before attaching the company name to them. The cake didn't impress me for a number of reasons. First, this was moist, I'll give it that, but the allspice was strangely odd to me. Cinnamon or a little nutmeg would have been a better choice. For that matter, NO spice and a little vanilla would have been better. The flavor of the cake itself was flat, and not sweet enough. The jam filling, which I didn't care for at all, did not compensate for that. The topping wasn't particularly tasty, and wasn't the best looking topping either. I used a 9x9" pan and, in hindsight, should have used the 8x8" option. The first layer of cake batter was so thin that, once baked, the filling pretty much sank to the bottom. As for the filling, preserves was not the best option - pie filling, canned or homemade, would have been so much better. In order to pretty this up a little I sprinkled it with powdered sugar, but that did little to change my overall opinion. My three star rating, which I consider to be "good, but average," is very generous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
THE BEST!! We love this coffee cake I only made 2 changes. I doubled the topping and used blueberry pie filler instead of jam. It's what I had on hand. Great recipe thank you Lynn Dubuque, Iowa
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2010
next time i make this, i will use canned blueberry pie filling in place of the preserves. The preserves only gave the recipe a hint of blueberry. i also had to cook it for twice as long as the recipe suggested. so i recommend cooking at 350 for 40-45 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2010
This is soooo good! it is really good for breakfast or even to make for a get together. this is a must try!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2010
I really like the idea of this recipe! Simple! I made blueberry sauce for the filling. Honestly, that's the only thing that gave this dessert any flavor. It was not very sweet (even though the sauce had PLENTY of sugar) and kind of bland. I will definitely make this again but with more sugar in the batter and maybe some vanilla or some other extract to liven in up. I did add cinnamon to the batter because I didnt have allspice on hand, didnt do much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cjs_mama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Black River Falls, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Westby, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2010
This is fantastic! I made this for my family, and they all loved it! Great recipe! thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2009
This is a quick, basic recipe. I didn't have the same problem with the baking time (8x8" pan for 22 minutes worked great for me) but I agree that it could use a bit more flavor...perhaps adding cinnamon and nutmeg in addition to the allspice as suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2009
I agree with Annie but instead of a larger pan I reduced the temp. to 375 and increased the cooking time until done
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Westminster, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2008
This was a very nice recipe for brunch. Next time I'll use a slightly larger pan. With the thickness of this cake it got too dark for my taste by the time it was done in the middle. I will also use cinnamon and nutmeg with the allspice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Remus, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Angel Cookies

See how to make moist, fruity strawberry cookies.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Blueberry Coffee Cake I

This dense, moist cake is easy to assemble and perfect with coffee.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States