Blueberry Coffee Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 25, 2014
I did not care for this. It tasted strongly of flour, so much so that it was really gross. It was also more moist than I would have liked. Definitely will never make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nevermore

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Princeton, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
I happened to find blueberries frozen from summer and found this recipe and I doubledit into a cake pan I cooked it at 350º for 35 minutes I also used cinnamon instead of all spice and I changed the topping to more of a strussal topping like I use on my apple strussal pie. Apso instead of the blueberry jelly I cooked frozen blueberries with a little sugar let then cool and used that in the middle well needless to say my 3 teenage sons had it gone by breakfast the next morning it was a hit in my house infact I m making another one as I type this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jada Pollock

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2013
I was looking for a fruit coffee cake recipe with no sour cream, as I didn't have any handy. This one came up, and I thought I'd try it, but after reading the reviews it was clear they needed more spices. I added vanilla and cinnamon, as well as the allspice. I was using a bundt pan and my homemade canned apple slices, which I lightly mashed so they would layer nicely. After mixing, the batter looked more like biscuit dough, so I added more milk. Not sure if our elevation had something to do with it? We're up very high in Calgary (1084m/3557ft). The result was delicious and disappeared right away. This time I'm making a double batch, as it didn't fill the bundt pan very well, and I'd like to have seconds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2013
With the modifications suggested (add cinnamon and vanilla; drop allspice and substitute real blueberries for the jam) this was a big breakfast pleaser. Cake is very heavy and hearty. Very easy to make with items I usually have on hand. Keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
Very simple to make. I did not have blueberry jam in the house and didn't want to make a trip to the grocery store, so I used 1 cup of canned blueberry pie filling. Had a great flavor and everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MSKITTY1

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
I loved this! I added about a cup of blueberries to the batter which made it super moist. I would definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NikkysNiche

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tallahassee, Florida, USA
Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
I just made these as muffins for work - they are fantastic! Really easy to make - which is great, since I know my staff will love them! My slight variation: Muffins are better for my crowd, so I filled muffin cups (with liners) 2/3 or so with batter, piled up about 8-12 blueberries on top, then I pushed them in a little and topped with the crumb topping. I did the same with diced bananas and more nuts instead of blueberries for 1/2 of the muffins. I cut down on cooking time by 5 min for the smaller pan(s). I will get Smucker's and do it exactly as directed, I am sure it'll be even better! Thank you thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2012
AS others here have said, a little vanilla and cinnamon are all this needs to be spectacular.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2012
a very delecious cake, i will do it again, i just added cinamon , and used larger pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2012
I put in 1/2 c. sugar, omitted the all spice & put lemon zest into the cake and the topping. I also doubled the topping and baked it at 350 for about an hour, I checked it after 45 min., it still needed more time. I will make this again. Delish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Strawberry Angel Cookies

See how to make moist, fruity strawberry cookies.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Blueberry Coffee Cake I

This dense, moist cake is easy to assemble and perfect with coffee.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States