Blueberry Clafouti Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2007
Clafouti is a French breakfast dessert that generally mascerates almond extract or kirsh, and granulated sugar with fruit like cherries. Because blueberries are a juicier fruit than cherries, I took the first reviewers suggestion and added 1/3 cup more of flour to the batter. Also at the suggestion of the first reviewer, I mascerated the blueberries with 3 TBSP. of sugar, and 1/2 teason of lemon extract. (almond extract didn't seem right for blueberries.) It turned out wonderfully and my children liked this. The texture is not cake-like, but again, not quite custard like. Slightly like thick crepes. The only reason this didn't get 5 stars was for the directions given, otherwise, this was a nice change for a breakfast offering, and my family enjoyed this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shawnee, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2008
The flavor of this was wonderful. Although I was extremely disappointed in how the nice fluffy top that came out of the oven had fallen through and just become a mere coating over the custard underneath. Had I read a review about more flour I might have tried that. But I never saw that one. Most clafouti's have the custard but the cake top should also hold up. Therefore, only a three.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
This is really excellent and simple! I have made it twice in two weeks. The first time I made it I used raspberries and substituted light cream for the milk, I know more fat, but it gets worse (see below) and 1 cup of flour and added 1/2 tsp of cinnamon. It was excellent! Yesterday, I made it with fresh pineapple and coconut and it is delicious! The worse part (more fat) is that I made a butter sauce (both times) that I always make with bread pudding to drizzle on each individual serving. This is such a versatile recipe as it seems you can use just about any fruit or combination you like. PS This is better than the other clafouti recipe on this site that has more ratings and I made that one with blueberries!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2011
I made a cherry clafouti a while ago with a different recipe. I love fresh blueberries so I had to try this recipe. I followed a reviewer suggestion to use almost a cup of flour. The resulting clafouti was pretty much what I expected, but with a slight "rubbery" texture... I googled this and someone said you should not overmix it after combining the flour & liquid ingredients. You should stop handling it asap. So hope this info helps. Mine took about 55 min, and a few bits stuck to bottom of pan, (maybe overbaked slightly?) but we really enjoyed this! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2007
The texture was in between cake and custard in that it was very chewy and egg like. I threw in a dash of cinnamon, the level of sweetness was subtle yet appropriate, next time I might mascerate the berries in some sugar to highlight their flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2010
I made two for an evening BBQ, one, fresh cherries (pitted them myself) and the other with raspberries, black berries and blue berries. They came out perfectly.. My guests had a choice and chose both with a scoop of good vanilla ice cream. I gave 5 stars because I found this can be mixed in a blender or food processor with great results.... will save time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gig Harbor, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2012
Delicious! I used cherries, macerated with vanilla and sugar and 4 whole eggs (because I didn't want to figure out what to do with the extra egg white) and almond milk. It's plenty sweet, you could easily back off the sugar. Nice recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LadySparkle

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2008
I really liked this recipe. I added strawberries and did not have vanilla extract so I used almond extract. Also added about a teaspoon of lemon zest. i was not sure what to expect, but I thought this was yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paterson, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Clifton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2010
This was excellent, very creamy, and soft. It does not make you feel stuffed afterward as well which is nice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
I made this with fresh pitted and halved cherries (more traditional). It was heavy in texture but light and refreshing in flavor. Great the next day cold with a hot cup of coffee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Petroleum, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Spencer, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Very Best Blueberry Cobbler

A gooey blueberry cobbler with a light, cakey topping.

Best Ever Blueberry Cobbler

This cobbler is bursting with blueberry flavor, a great summer dessert.

Blueberry Shortbread Bars

See how to make delicious fresh berry bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States