Blueberry Clafouti Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2007
The texture was in between cake and custard in that it was very chewy and egg like. I threw in a dash of cinnamon, the level of sweetness was subtle yet appropriate, next time I might mascerate the berries in some sugar to highlight their flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2007
Clafouti is a French breakfast dessert that generally mascerates almond extract or kirsh, and granulated sugar with fruit like cherries. Because blueberries are a juicier fruit than cherries, I took the first reviewers suggestion and added 1/3 cup more of flour to the batter. Also at the suggestion of the first reviewer, I mascerated the blueberries with 3 TBSP. of sugar, and 1/2 teason of lemon extract. (almond extract didn't seem right for blueberries.) It turned out wonderfully and my children liked this. The texture is not cake-like, but again, not quite custard like. Slightly like thick crepes. The only reason this didn't get 5 stars was for the directions given, otherwise, this was a nice change for a breakfast offering, and my family enjoyed this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shawnee, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2008
This recipe is easy, quick and yummy! I ended up baking it for close to an hour. It was not overly sweet, which was comforting - a perfect breakfast which tasted distinctly of eggs! I rated this four stars, but to be fair I would give it five if it weren't for my own personal taste - I'm not a fan of eggs. Still, I would reccommend this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2008
I really liked this recipe. I added strawberries and did not have vanilla extract so I used almond extract. Also added about a teaspoon of lemon zest. i was not sure what to expect, but I thought this was yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paterson, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Clifton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2008
The flavor of this was wonderful. Although I was extremely disappointed in how the nice fluffy top that came out of the oven had fallen through and just become a mere coating over the custard underneath. Had I read a review about more flour I might have tried that. But I never saw that one. Most clafouti's have the custard but the cake top should also hold up. Therefore, only a three.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2008
Very good. I like the gooey, yet cake-like texture. My whole family enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2009
I had never heard of a clafouti. Since I love any custard, I really liked this and with the blueberries, it was fabulous. Easy to make and not your standard cobbler.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KathleenO

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Littleton, Colorado, USA
Living In: Centennial, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2009
It was good, but I'll bet the traditional cherry clafouti would be better. I'm going for cherries next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alisa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
This is really excellent and simple! I have made it twice in two weeks. The first time I made it I used raspberries and substituted light cream for the milk, I know more fat, but it gets worse (see below) and 1 cup of flour and added 1/2 tsp of cinnamon. It was excellent! Yesterday, I made it with fresh pineapple and coconut and it is delicious! The worse part (more fat) is that I made a butter sauce (both times) that I always make with bread pudding to drizzle on each individual serving. This is such a versatile recipe as it seems you can use just about any fruit or combination you like. PS This is better than the other clafouti recipe on this site that has more ratings and I made that one with blueberries!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2009
I did not care for this at all. Turned out very dry and hard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Very Best Blueberry Cobbler

A gooey blueberry cobbler with a light, cakey topping.

Best Ever Blueberry Cobbler

This cobbler is bursting with blueberry flavor, a great summer dessert.

Blueberry Shortbread Bars

See how to make delicious fresh berry bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States